Share “First female Oklahoma House majority floor...”

First female Oklahoma House majority floor leader named

Speaker-elect names a Tulsa lawmaker to fill the post. He also promotes the House budget committee's vice chairman to the top spot.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Published: December 4, 2012

“Chairing the budget committee is probably one of the toughest jobs in the House, but I'm up to the task,” Martin said. “You don't make a lot of friends when you have to tell people no, but taking care of our tax dollars means we have to say no to a lot of spending items.”

DeWitt and Sears were named to their posts by former House Speaker Kris Steele, a Shawnee Republican who could not seek re-election because of 12-year legislative term limits.

Shannon also announced that Reps. Fred Jordan, R-Jenks, and Dennis Johnson, R-Duncan, would serve as majority leaders to help Peterson.

“I have worked with these members for years as I served in the Legislature, and now it is my honor to serve with them as leaders of this great body,” Shannon said. “Each of them brings different talents, experiences and perspectives to our leadership team, and they will serve our colleagues well in their new positions.”

Shannon said he will be announcing other leadership positions in the coming weeks, including committee chairmen and vice chairmen.