Share “Five Edmond police officers get state awards”

Five Edmond police officers get state awards

Edmond Detective Marion Cain received the state officer of the year award presented by the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police. Four other Edmond officers won awards.
by Diana Baldwin Modified: August 8, 2012 at 5:43 pm •  Published: August 9, 2012

Detective Marion Cain has been named the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police officer of the year.

Cain was honored for his development of a device to detect explosives that have been surgically implanted into a person's body.

Cain teamed with Isaac Rutel, an assistant professor for the department of radiological sciences at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, to determine a proper X-ray dosage that could be used to detect a bomb threat.

Police officers Kyle Cunningham, Joseph Delpha and Neil Martin received the medal of valor for helping when a car was being swept away in a current in rapidly moving water on Nov. 7.

Officer Joseph Wells earned the lifesaving award for his actions on Feb. 5 after a woman called her therapist and said she had consumed a large number of pills.

The woman was not breathing and had a faint heartbeat. Wells administered CPR and the woman started to breathe again before medical help arrived. has disabled the comments for this article.
by Diana Baldwin
Sr. Reporter
Diana Baldwin has been an Oklahoma journalist since 1976 and came to The Oklahoman in 1991. She covered the Oklahoma City bombing and covered the downfall of Oklahoma City police forensic chemist Joyce Gilchrist misidentifying evidence. She wrote...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Baylor promotes Kendal Briles to offensive coordinator
  2. 2
    Risks in Using Social Media to Spot Signs of Mental Distress
  3. 3
    Abusers using spyware apps to monitor partners reaches 'epidemic proportions'
  4. 4
    OU football: Defensive tackle Matt Romar injured at practice
  5. 5
    Police: Cartel claims they have kidnapped Border Patrol agent
+ show more