Share “Focus schools”

Oklahoman Published: February 23, 2012

Focus schools

Focus schools are schools that are eligible for state takeover if they fail to show an ability to improve. These 77 schools are the lowest 5 percent of Title I schools in the state, based on student test scores. They have graduation rates less than 60 percent or are schools eligible for School Improvement Grants.

• Oklahoma City School District: Astec Charter Middle, Bodine Elementary, Capitol Hill High, Douglass Middle, Dove Science Academy Elementary (charter), Emerson Alternative Education Middle, F.D. Moon Elementary, Stanley Hupfeld Academy at Western Village (charter elementary), Jackson Middle, Jefferson Middle, John Marshall Middle, Justice Alma SeeWorth Academy (charter), Lee Elementary, Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary, Marcus Garvey Leadership Charter, Oklahoma Centennial Middle, Oklahoma Centennial High, Rogers Middle, Roosevelt Middle, Santa Fe South Middle (charter), Shidler Elementary, Star Spencer High, Thelma R. Parks Elementary, U.S. Grant High and Wheeler Elementary.

• Tulsa School District: Anderson Elementary, Burroughs Elementary, Celia Clinton Elementary, Central High, Clinton Middle, Daniel Webster High, East Central High, Greeley Elementary, Lindbergh Elementary, Macarthur Elementary, Marshall Elementary, McClure Elementary, McKinley Elementary, McLain High School for Science and Technology, Nathan Hale High, Sequoyah Elementary, Springdale Elementary and Whitman Elementary.

Continue reading this story on the...


  1. 1
    Real ID poses potential real problems for those with Oklahoma driver's licenses
  2. 2
    Charged Owasso police officer surrenders, appears in Nowata County District Court
  3. 3
    Hillary Clinton just laid out a sweeping gun-control plan
  4. 4
    When It Comes to Sharing on Social Media, Conversations Differ By Race
  5. 5
    Just in time: Longhorns, Sooners get their own TollTags
+ show more


× Trending politics Article