Fog again postpones Olympic men's biathlon

Published on NewsOK Modified: February 17, 2014 at 5:21 am •  Published: February 17, 2014
Advertisement
;

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia (AP) — The men's 15-kilometer mass-start biathlon at the Olympics has been postponed for another day because of fog and is now set to start Tuesday at 2:30 p.m. (5:30 a.m. EST, 1030 GMT).

Organizers say a decision on the women's 12.5K mass start, which is scheduled to start at 7 p.m. (10 a.m. EST, 1500 GMT), is expected at 4 p.m.

The men's race initially was delayed one hour and then postponed Sunday because fog made for poor visibility on the shooting range. It was reset for Monday at 10 a.m. (1 a.m. EST, 0600 GMT).

However, with fog still hanging over the course, organizers delayed the start for at least another 5½ hours before calling it off as conditions failed to improve.



Trending Now


AROUND THE WEB

  1. 1
    At Tour de France, Safety Concerns Arise About Selfies
  2. 2
    The endless, excruciating idiocy of the Internet — in one very stupid viral photo
  3. 3
    How did Sports Illustrated land the LeBron James story?
  4. 4
    Is a Spice Girls reunion in the works?
  5. 5
    A Music Archive Just Uploaded 13,000 Classic Live Concert Videos to YouTube. Here's What to Watch
+ show more