Share “Four Sooners, three Cowboys on Maxwell...”

Four Sooners, three Cowboys on Maxwell Award watch list

BRANDON CHATMON Published: August 15, 2009

Seven in-state players are on the Maxwell Award watch list, which was released on Friday. Four Oklahoma Sooners and three Oklahoma State Cowboys are among the 55 players who are expected to battle for the award, which is given to the most outstanding player in college football.

Quarterback Sam Bradford, running back Chris Brown, tight end Jermaine Gresham and running back DeMarco Murray represent the Sooners on the list.

Receiver Dez Bryant, running back Kendall Hunter and quarterback Zac Robinson represent the Cowboys.

Semifinalists for the award with be announced on Nov. 4t, and three finalists will be named on Nov. 23. The winner of the Maxwell Award will be announced on Dec. 10 on the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards show.

Other candidates for the award include Illinois receiver Arrelious Benn, Cal running back Jahvid Best, West Virginia running back Noel Devine, Georgia receiver A.J. Green, BYU quarterback Max Hall, Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin, Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, along with Texas’ quarterback Colt McCoy and receiver Jordan Shipley.


  1. 1
    Dallas County man freed after serving 25 years for murder over faulty science of bite marks
  2. 2
    Doctors pioneer pot as an opioid substitute
  3. 3
    Playboy To Stop Publishing Nudes In Print Magazine
  4. 4
    Tulsa-based Williams Cos. outlines policy for possible layoffs
  5. 5
    Vinita letter carrier saves girl from burning building, gets award
+ show more


× Trending ou Article