Two U.S. scholars share Nobel economics prize - Article Photos 1/12

Norwegian Nobel Committee Chairman Thorbjoern Jagland, centre, announces the European Union as the recipients of the 2012 Nobel Peace prize in Oslo, Norway, Friday, Oct. 12, 2012. The European Union has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts to promote peace and democracy in Europe, in the midst of the union's biggest crisis since its creation in the 1950s. The Norwegian prize committee said the EU received the award for six decades of contributions "to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. (AP Photo, Heiko Junge / NTB Scanpix Noway) NORWAY OUT ORG XMIT: LON805