Share “Groups and individuals honored with...”

Groups and individuals honored with Oklahoma Governor's Arts Awards

Oklahoma Arts Council recognized honorees of the 36th annual Governor's Arts Awards with a ceremony at the state Capitol Tuesday.
BY LILLIE-BETH BRINKMAN Published: November 16, 2011

Anne Guevara, Oklahoma City; Jena Kodesh, Red Rock; OK Mozart, Bartlesville; and The Children's Center, Bethany, received the Arts in Education Award, recognizing individuals, organizations, schools, educators or groups for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefiting youth and/or arts in education.

Don Jordan, Oklahoma City; Jody Naifeh, Sapulpa; Marie Alley, Norman; and Pat Snider, Shawnee, were recognized with Community Service Awards for their significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in areas of leadership and volunteerism.

The Oklahoma Judicial Center Art Committee, Oklahoma City, received the George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award as an Oklahoma government official or entity for outstanding support of the arts.

Patrick Riley, Bethany, received the Special Recognition Award for unique contributions to the arts.

Kym Koch Thompson, Oklahoma City, who also serves as chairman of the Oklahoma Arts Council, received the Marilyn Douglass Memorial Award, established in 1980 in honor of a former council member to honor council members.

Suzanne Tate, Oklahoma City, received the Liddy Doenges Leadership in the Arts Award.