Share “Heisman winner bowl history”

Oklahoman Modified: December 14, 2008 at 8:31 am •  Published: December 14, 2008
Heisman winner bowl history
22 wins; 26 losses; 25 no bowl

1935: Jay Berwanger; Chicago; no bowl

1936: Larry Kelley; Yale; no bowl

1937: Clint Frank; Yale; no bowl

1938: Davey O’Brien; TCU; won 15-7 vs. Carnegie Tech in Sugar Bowl

1939: Nile Kinnick; Iowa; no bowl

1940: Tom Harmon; Michigan; no bowl

1941: Bruce Smith; Minnesota; no bowl

1942: Frank Sinkwich; Georgia; won 9-0 vs. UCLA in Rose Bowl

1943: Angelo Bertelli; Notre Dame; no bowl

1944: Les Horvath; Ohio State; no bowl

1945: Doc Blanchard; Army; no bowl

1946: Glenn Davis; Army; no bowl

1947: John Lujack; Notre Dame; no bowl

1948: Doak Walker; SMU; won 21-13 vs. Oregon in Cotton Bowl

1949: Leon Hart; Notre Dame; no bowl

1950: Vic Janowicz; Ohio State; no bowl

1951: Dick Kazmaier; Princeton; no bowl

1952: Billy Vessels; Oklahoma; no bowl

1953: John Lattner; Notre Dame; no bowl

1954: Alan Ameche; Wisconsin; no bowl

1955: Howard Cassady; Ohio State; no bowl

1956: Paul Hornung; Notre Dame; no bowl

1957: John David Crow; Texas A&M; lost 3-0 vs. Tennessee in Gator Bowl

1958: Pete Dawkins; Army; no bowl

1959: Billy Cannon; LSU; lost 21-0 vs. Mississippi in Sugar Bowl

1960: Joe Bellino; Navy; lost 21-14 vs. Missouri in Orange Bowl

1961: Ernie Davis; Syracuse; won 15-14 vs. Miami in Liberty Bowl

1962: Terry Baker; Oregon State; won 6-0 vs. Villanova in Liberty Bowl

1963: Roger Staubach; Navy; lost 28-6 vs. Texas in Cotton Bowl

1964: John Huarte; Notre Dame; no bowl

1965: Mike Garrett; USC; no bowl

1966: Steve Spurrier; Florida; won 27-12 vs.


  1. 1
    Former OSU student convicted of manslaughter in 2009 fatal car crash released on bail; attorney...
  2. 2
    Police find dead body in porta-potty outside Cincinnati Bengals' Paul Brown Stadium
  3. 3
    Several Deer Creek schools on lockdown due to report of suspicious person
  4. 4
    Tulsa mother gets three life sentences, father 25 years in 'horrific' child abuse case
  5. 5
    Man who calls police to say he's 'too high,' found in pile of Doritos
+ show more


× Trending ou Article