Share “Helen Ford Wallace: Parties, Etc.: Aug. 11”

Helen Ford Wallace: Parties, Etc.: Aug. 11

VIP Party, Birthday Party, Educator's Hall of Fame, Kickoff Reception, Art Opening, Book Party
by Helen Ford Wallace Published: August 11, 2013


Who/what/where: Dr. Al Moorad and Kathey Sandler were hosts for the VIP Party for the Integris Jim Thorpe Rehabilitation Courage Awards Gala. It was in their Gaillardia home. The party included 150 patrons.

How: Guests were treated to the insider's auction preview and dinner from The Petroleum Club. Jim Thorpe Rehab's horticulture therapy patients created centerpieces. Entertainment was by Caleb Peebles.

Why: Sponsors were invited guests. The gala is set for Saturday at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum. Co-chairmen are James Moore, Moorad, Sandler, Keith Wilson, Roshan Pujari and Andrea and Desmond Mason.


Party: Richard Ogden's 50th birthday was celebrated at The Colcord Hotel Patio at Flint. He and Mike McLain were hosts.

Entertainment: University of Central Oklahoma Music Theater students entertained along with disc jockey Brian Frejo and Live Strings.

Great idea: In lieu of gifts, the 350 guests were asked to give to the City Rescue Mission or the Winds House. More than $8,500 was raised. Donors were entered in a drawing for a trip to Las Vegas and Gene Goforth Jr. and Wayne Markham won the trip.

Seen: John Yoeckel, Jim Roth, Sen. Connie Johnson, Rep. Joe Dorman, Mitzi and Sheriff John Wetsel, Councilman John Pettis jr. Kelly and Chris Fry, Beth and Steve Kerr, Karen Cunningham, Wayne Coyne, Dean Justin Lindstrom, John Woods, Chris George, Keith Taggart, Stacy Ford Stiglets, Lori and Ty Tyler, Scott Davis, David Leader, Jay Krottinger, Lori and Colin Walke, Corey Phillips, Adam de la Garza, Ann Simank, Gary Bankhead, Lance McDaniel, Monty Milburn, Kevin Watson, Scott Irani, Chip Oppenheim and Bret Baldwin.


Event: The 28th annual Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame Induction Banquet was held at Quail Creek Golf and Country Club.

2013 inductees: Honored were Steven P. Crawford, Byng; Nancy O'Donnell, Edmond, and Lloyd W. Snow, Sand Springs.

Tables: Centerpieces of yellow roses, purple irises and chrysanthemums decorated the tables.

Guests: 300 guests attended the formal dinner and ceremony, including Eugene Earsom, Michael Barlow, Larry Burdick, Bert Corr, Kyle Dahlem, Freda Deskin, Gerald Dickerson, Clarence Oliver, Jack Paschall, Bruce A. Petty, Randall Raburn, Lyle Young, Sandy Garrett, State Sen. Susan Paddack and Gary Paddack, Phyllis Hudecki, Jeff Mills, Linda Hampton, Sharon and Ken Lease. Eighty-five Oklahomans have been honored since 1984. Sharon Lease is executive director of the OEHF. Stacy Nix, Tulsa, is OEHF President.

by Helen Ford Wallace
Society Editor
Helen Ford Wallace is a columnist covering society-related events/news for The Oklahoman. She puts local parties online with daily updates. She creates, maintains and runs a Parties blog which includes web casts. She is an online web editor for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Man arrested for threatening to 'kill all white people' in La Plata, Md.
  2. 2
    11-year-old shoots, kills suspected home invader
  3. 3
    Pentagon Now Says Army Mistakenly Sent Live Anthrax to All 50 States
  4. 4
    The FBI Now Needs a Warrant To Use Its Phone-Sniffing Stingray Boxes
  5. 5
    Baylor DE Shawn Oakman suspended for opener against SMU
+ show more


× Trending life Article