Share “Helen Ford Wallace: Parties, Etc.: Feb. 10”

Helen Ford Wallace: Parties, Etc.: Feb. 10

Board Celebration, Welcome Reception, Birthdays, Bridal Shower, Theta Founder's Day
by Helen Ford Wallace Published: February 10, 2013

Menu: Mini-birthday cakes were served as well as tea sandwiches, cheese and fruit, dips and wine and cranberry cocktails.

Seen: Lil Ross, Jamie Farha, Susan Edwards, Mary Kay Samis, Linda James, Carleen Burger, Betsy Daugherty, Dannie Bea Hightower, Jann Schwabe, Katie Alexander, Martha Williams, Susan Hoffman, Betsy Thorpe, Annie Bohanon and Meridith Cassidy.


Party: A bridal shower honored Beth Cook in the home of Ann Fleming. Co-hostesses were Lynne Alexander, Susie Gray, Michele Hughes and Linda Tate. Cook and Corey McCauley will be married in April.

Vintage theme: An antique wicker basket was filled with a spring bouquet of hydrangeas and roses, antique champagne flutes and antique white linen napkins and it was the centerpiece for the table. It was also a gift for the bride-to-be.

Guests: Janie Cook, Katharine Regens, Mollie Bennett, Tallie Triska, Emily Thompson, Karley Hofer, Heidi Vollbrecht, Helen Vollbrecht, Bayley Overland, Jacey Massey, Chelsea Richarson and Mary Lynn Fryer.


Luncheon: Members of Kappa Alpha Theta Alumnae celebrated Founder's Day with at luncheon at the Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. The event honored the sorority's founders and members who have been Thetas for 50 and 75 years.

Honorees: Mary Margaret Ledbetter was honored as a 75-year Theta and Beth Adams, Ann Caylor, Nancy Leonard, Penny Replogle and Susan Seely were 50-year honorees. Kim Joseph was Founder's Day Chairman and read a proclamation from Gov. Mary Fallin, also a Theta, commending the members for their service to the group. Other committee members were Sandy Trudgeon, Donna Blakely, Lee Ann Nordin and Mary Anne Malone.

Theta of the year: Jennifer Shadid was also honored as the 2013 Theta of the Year.

New officers: Susie Kemp, nominating chairman, introduced new officers who are: Janie Axton, president; Johanna Schick, president-elect; Emily Blake, membership chairman; Chris Kumler, recording secretary; Julie Branch, treasurer; Karma Robinson, festival chairman; Amber Vawter, festival treasurer; Beth Portman, philanthropy chairman; Sue Ryan, nominating chairman; Suzanne Bockus, Panhellenic chairman; Penny McCaleb, public relations, and Kathy Funston, archivist/historian.

Reports: Active chapter members from the University of Oklahoma and Oklahoma State University attended the luncheon and gave updates about their groups.

At the event: Other Thetas attending were Donna Vogel, Jeannette Sias, Mary Lippert, Sally Trimble, Julie Guerin, Adelaide Liedtke, Julie Branch, Helene Huff, Elizabeth Nordin, Alexa Lienhard, Rosemary Joseph, Katie Long, Audry Gill, Emma Orth, Megan Rooney and Jean Spitz.

by Helen Ford Wallace
Society Editor
Helen Ford Wallace is a columnist covering society-related events/news for The Oklahoman. She puts local parties online with daily updates. She creates, maintains and runs a Parties blog which includes web casts. She is an online web editor for...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Nevada goats help eat, recycle Christmas trees
  2. 2
    Jack Daniels' son is Jim Beam
  3. 3
    Monkey gives first aid to unconscious friend
  4. 4
    Tony Romo calls Pro Bowl an honor, but hopes Cowboys can't play
  5. 5
    Census: State population grows by nearly 25,000 in past year
+ show more