Share “Helen Ford Wallace: Parties, etc.”

Helen Ford Wallace: Parties, etc.

Helen Ford Wallace society and people items
by Helen Ford Wallace Published: March 6, 2011

Party: Meg Salyer was hostess for a reception honoring Marion Paden, president-elect of the Rotary Club of Oklahoma City. The party was in Salyer's office. Paden is the second woman president of the Rotary Club of Oklahoma City. Salyer was the first woman president. The party was for Women of the Rotary Club of Oklahoma City.

Presentation: Paden was given a paperweight with the Rotary logo.

Seen: Avis Scaramucci, Gena Timberman, Shirley Kirschner, Penny Voss, Hilarie Blaney, Terri Cooper, Sherry Rhodes, Cindy Batt, Donita Thomas, Ann Ackerman, Freda Deskin, Liz Eichman, Ann Garrett, Willa Johnson, Lou Kerr, Donna Lawrence, Cathy Stackpole, Karen Wicker, Cynda Ottaway, Keith Oehlert, Carol Troy, Ann Felton, Barbara Butner, Marilyn Torbett and Ann Simank.


Patriotic luncheon: The annual Daughters of the American Revolution George Washington luncheon was held at Gaylord Center at Oklahoma Christian University. It was sponsored by the Oklahoma City Regents Council.

Tables: Local DAR chapter members decorated the tables using a flag theme.

Program: The Oklahoma City Elks Lodge No. 417 gave the program, and members of the Western Heights Army JROTC served as Honor Guard.

David Hooten played “Battle Hymn of the Republic” on the trumpet, and John Christopher sang “America” and “God Bless America.”

Flags: Don LaPoma gave a flag program, “The Flag — Its History.” On display were examples of the U.S. flag throughout history.

Membership chairman: Janice Gunn.


Dinner/dance: 250 Oklahoma City University members of Alpha Phi celebrated the 50th anniversary with a Saturday night Red Dress Gala at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. This was during the “Fabulous at 50” weekend of events. Tiffany Warford was chairman, and Cassie Papin and Randa Ogletree were co-chairmen. Silent auction bidding proceeds went to the Alpha Phi Foundation. Guests came from Oklahoma, Minnesota, Virginia, California and Texas.

Sorority pins: Receiving 50-year pins were Sandra Martin, Carole Heitz, Bobbie Moore, Dorothy Allshouse, Angela Bachman and Polly Anderson.

Other awards: Lisa Blackburn received the chapter's first Martha Foote Crow award for 35 years of dedication and leadership. Special tribute went to Cecile Richards. Sarah Jensen, educational leadership consultant, and Sarah Newcomb, Alpha Phi's 2011 Panhellenic Woman of the Year, were introduced.

Other activities: Alumnae and active members met at the Alpha Phi House and sang songs and spent the night. They also had family day at the Oklahoma City University Great Hall in University Center and a Service of Remembrance.

by Helen Ford Wallace
Society Editor
Helen Ford Wallace is a columnist covering society-related events/news for The Oklahoman. She puts local parties online with daily updates. She creates, maintains and runs a Parties blog which includes web casts. She is an online web editor for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Doctor to Be Sentenced for Giving Chemo to Cancer-Free Patients
  2. 2
    Marcus Smart talks leadership, improvement following Celtics' summer league opener
  3. 3
    Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma insurance rates might go up 31 percent in 2016: Report
  4. 4
    Thomas Piketty has wise words on German hypocrisy and how to solve the Greek debt crisis
  5. 5
    Report: Celtics trade Gerald Wallace to Warriors for David Lee
+ show more