Share “High school notebook: Stillwater's Noah...”

High school notebook: Stillwater's Noah Gade wins Gatorade award

Gade is the first boys runner since 1996 from Oklahoma to qualify for the Foot Locker Cross Country National Championships, where he finished 36th.
By Scott Wright, Ryan Aber and Ed Godfrey Published: January 17, 2013

Competing against several top divers, some of whom took part in the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships or the U.S. Olympic Team trials last year, Kilby finished wighth in the one-meter and fifth in the three-meter diving events.


Edmond North is the new No. 1 team in Class 6A and will be one of 23 schools wrestling this weekend in the 36th annual Jay Hancock Memorial Tournament in Yukon.

In addition to the Huskies, other top 6A teams competing include third-ranked Muskogee, seventh-ranked Sand Springs and No. 11 Yukon. Perennial power Allen, Texas, also is entered along with Deer Creek, ranked No. 7 in Class 5A.

Mustang, Edmond Santa Fe, Putnam City North, Putnam City and Midwest City are also part of the field.

“With the amount of teams and who is competing, it's going to be a dogfight for every team and every individual,” Yukon coach Joe Schneider said. “Every weight class is going to be tough.”

Headlining host Yukon's lineup is 138-pounder Parker Bohannan and 120-pounder Boo Lewallen, who was named the most outstanding wrestler at both the Perry tournament and the Lone Star Duals in South Grand Prairie, Texas.

Wrestling begins at noon on Friday at Yukon High School. The consolation rounds are scheduled to begin Saturday at 11 a.m. with the placing rounds following at 3 p.m.

The brackets and tournament results will be posted on The tournament is named after longtime Yukon wrestling coach Jay Hancock.


The annual Casady, McGuinness Swim Invitational will be held Saturday at Oklahoma City Community College.

Eighteen teams from Oklahoma and Texas are scheduled to compete in the swim meet, including Norman North, widely considered the favorite to win the boys state title this season.

Swimming begins at 10 a.m. Admission is free.

By Scott Wright, Ryan Aber and Ed Godfrey