Share “Historical society names honorees for...”

Historical society names honorees for annual dinner

From our partners at Edmond Life & Leisure Published: April 4, 2006
EDMOND -- The Edmond Historical Society is pleased to announce the following award winners that will be honored Monday at the 21st Annual Heritage Dinner. The dinner will take place at the Oklahoma Christian University Gaylord Center, 2501 E Memorial Road.

There will be a reception sponsored by Edmond Bank and Trust at 5:30 p.m. and the dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Newly named Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Department Executive Director Hardy Watkins will be the keynote speaker.

Tickets to the dinner are $30 for Edmond Historical Society members and $40 for nonmembers. Tables of 8 can be purchased for $300. Reservations may be made by calling the Edmond Historical Society Museum at 340-0078. Reservations are required by today.

The 2006 Edmond Historical Society Roll of Honor Winners are:

  • Oren Lee Peters -- Peters was born in Edmond where his family history runs deep. His grandparents staked a claim at Covell and Air Depot in the 1889 Land Run. He is a proud member of the First Families of Edmond. As a National Guard member, he is a veteran of the World War II and the Korean War.

  • Laynie Harrod -- Harrod's family background is rich with Oklahoma history. Her father, James Harrod, served as Edmond's mayor from 1975 to 1977.

    She supervises recreational programs at Pelican Bay Aquatic Center, Festival Market Place, the MAC Center, the Skate Park and special venues and amphitheaters.

    The 2006 Edmond Historical Society Preservation Award Winners are:

  • Gene Lesseg for Building and Sites -- Lesseg served as the contractor for the rehabilitation of Edmond's First Schoolhouse as directed by the Edmond Historic Preservation Trust.

    During the renovation, Lesseg said he made great efforts to maintain an attractive exterior appearance for this building which is located on historic Route 66 on Second Street and Boulevard.

    The current restoration of the first public schoolhouse in Oklahoma Territory has been approved as an official Oklahoma 2007 Statehood Centennial Project.

  • Continue reading this story on the... has disabled the comments for this article.