History of the NBA's Sixth Man Award

COMPILED BY DARNELL MAYBERRY Published: January 16, 2012

Established: 1982-83

First recipient: Bobby Jones, Philadelphia

Multiple winners: Three (Kevin McHale, Ricky Pierce and Detlef Schrempf)

Highest scoring average: Ricky Pierce;23.0 ppg.;1989-90

Lowest scoring average: Bill Walton;7.6 ppg.;1985-86

Closest race: 1990-91; Schrempf garnered 38 first-place votes. Dan Majerle had 37.

Most lopsided race: 2008-09; Jason Terry garnered 421 more total points than runner-up J.R. Smith. Terry captured 111 of 121 first-place votes.

Eventual Hall of Fame inductees: Two. McHale and Walton

Notable: The Thunder/Sonics franchise has never had a Sixth Man of the Year winner … Phoenix leads all franchises with four winners of the Sixth Man of the Year Award. Dallas Boston and Dallas has had three winners. Milwaukee, Indiana, New York and Chicago have each had two winners. Nine other teams have had one recipient … Walton is the only winner to have also won an MVP award … Schrempf, Toni Kukoc, Ben Gordon, Leandro Barbosa and Manu Ginobili are the only winners to have been born outside the United States … Gordon is the only rookie to have won the award.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Report: Wes Welker suspended four games
  2. 2
    Report: Cowboys to bring in Michael Sam for physical
  3. 3
    Broken Arrow couple jailed on homicide, abuse complaints after death of foster child
  4. 4
    Grantland.com compares OSU's Tyreek Hill to 'celestial being'
  5. 5
    Family of Oklahoma teenager killed by off-duty cop files protective order against key witness
+ show more