Share “Joe Castiglione honored as 2013 recipient...”

OU Sports


Joe Castiglione honored as 2013 recipient of John L. Toner Award

by Jason Kersey Published: May 30, 2013
Joe Castiglione was named the 2013 John L. Toner Award recipient Thursday. PHOTO PROVIDED BY OU ATHLETICS
Joe Castiglione was named the 2013 John L. Toner Award recipient Thursday. PHOTO PROVIDED BY OU ATHLETICS

NORMAN — Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione was honored Thursday as the 2013 John L. Toner Award recipient.

The Toner Award is presented annually by the National Football Foundation to the athletic director who has “demonstrated superior administrative abilities and shown outstanding dedication to college athletics and particularly college football,” according to an OU news release.

“Since Joe’s hire 15 years ago, Oklahoma has dominated the football and athletics landscape with the Sooners experiencing extraordinary success as a perennial national power,” NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell said in the release. “The Sooners have a rich football history, and the success of the team would not be possible without Joe’s support and leadership. His accomplishments place him the vanguard of his profession and truly worthy of this prestigious honor.”

Castiglione arrived at Oklahoma in April 1998, and hired current Sooners coach Bob Stoops eight months later. Stoops has led the Sooners to four BCS national title games, eight Big 12 titles and the 2000 national championship.

OU athletic programs have won seven national championships during Castiglione’s tenure.

Before joining OU, Castiglione spent 17 years at the University of Missouri, and the last five as athletic director. He is a 1979 graduate of the University of Maryland, and received his master’s degree from OU in 2007.

Previous John L. Toner Award recipients:
2012: Mal Moore (Alabama)
2011: No Honoree
2010: Robert E. Mulcahy III (Rutgers)
2009: Jim Weaver (Virginia Tech)
2008: Gene Smith (Eastern Michigan, Iowa State, Arizona State, Ohio State)
2007: Jeremy Foley (Florida)
2006: DeLoss Dodds (Texas)
2005: Jack Lengyel (Fresno State, Missouri, Navy)
2004: Vince Dooley (Georgia)
2003: John Clune (Air Force)
2003: Andy Geiger (Brown, Penn, Stanford, Maryland, Ohio State)
2002: Bill Byrne (Oregon, Nebraska, Texas A&M)
2001: Milo R. “Mike” Lude (Washington)
2000: Frank Broyles (Arkansas)
1999: Jake Crouthamel (Syracuse)
1998: Doug Dickey (Tennessee)
1997: John L. Toner (Connecticut)

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Police standoff with armed man ends peacefully in Owasso
  2. 2
    Skiatook Lake update; Oklahoma records wettest month ever
  3. 3
    Best ever? Kendrick Perkins says LeBron James needs 'a couple more titles and that's it'
  4. 4
    Jenks man jailed after failing to pay for dinner at Tulsa restaurant
  5. 5
    Lincoln Riley's arrival makes ESPN's list of 100 things to look forward to in 2015
+ show more