Johnson, Coyle named Griz MVPs

Published on NewsOK Modified: December 9, 2013 at 9:38 am •  Published: December 9, 2013

MISSOULA, Mont. (AP) — Quarterback Jordan Johnson and linebacker Brock Coyle shared the Steve Carlson Award given to the most valuable player on the Montana football team.

The team awards were presented at a banquet on Sunday, a day after Montana's season ended with a 42-35 to Coastal Carolina in the second round of the FCS playoffs.

Coyle, a senior from Bozeman, led Montana with 125 tackles, averaging 9.6 per game. Johnson, a junior from Eugene, Ore., passed for 3,387 yards and 32 touchdowns as Montana posted a 10-3 record.

Sophomore wide receiver Ellis Henderson of Portland, Ore., received the Terry Dillon Award given to the team's outstanding back or receiver. He had 43 catches for 1,008 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Danny Kistler Jr. of Seattle was named the team's outstanding offensive lineman for the second year in a row while Zach Wagenmann of Missoula was again named the team's outstanding defensive lineman.

Linebacker Paul Kanongata'a of Bellevue, Wash., was named the team's hardest hitter while linebacker Kendrick Van Ackeren, also of Bellevue, Wash., was named the special teams player of the year.

Defensive end Tyrone Holmes of Eagle Point, Ore., received the Tony Barbour Award, which goes to the player who best exemplifies the values and work ethic of Grizzly football. Linebacker Jordan Tripp of Missoula was named the team's most inspirational player.

The scout team players of the year were quarterback Makena Simis of Boise, Idaho and linebacker Tucker Schye of Malta.


Trending Now


  1. 1
    Dave Chappelle Reveals Shockingly Buff New Look
  2. 2
    Peaches Geldof Funeral to Be Held on Easter Monday
  3. 3
    Mayor Who Fired Lesbian Police Chief Caught On Tape In Homophobic Tirade
  4. 4
    NBA commissioner wants to raise age limit to 20
  5. 5
    Dream guitars I wouldn't mind calling my own (34 Photos)
+ show more