Share “Justin Blackmon and Ryan Broyles: Bedlam's...”

Justin Blackmon and Ryan Broyles: Bedlam's dazzling receiving duo

The 2010 Bedlam game will feature two potential All-American receivers. But the two could have been lining up alongside each other for OSU.
By Brandon Chatmon, Mike Baldwin and Jake Trotter, Staff Writers Modified: November 22, 2010 at 1:56 pm •  Published: November 22, 2010

A list of 10 semifinalists will be trimmed to three today. Other top candidates include: A.J. Green (Georgia), Julio Jones (Alabama), Alshon Jeffery (South Carolina) and Jeff Fuller (Texas A&M).

Billy Hilaman, chairman of the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation that oversees the award, said 160 sportswriters, broadcasters and former Biletnikoff winners are eligible to vote. No one on the committee votes. Off-the-field issues is not a criteria.

“Blackmon having a good game against Texas and Broyles breaking those records certainly helped them,” Hilaman said. “The Big 12 has always done well in the voting. Dez (Bryant) would have had a good shot at it last year if hadn't have gotten suspended.”

After the list is trimmed to three finalists, voters will determine the Biletnikoff winner. The winner will be announced Dec. 9 on the Home Depot ESPNU college football awards show.

Previous Biletnikoff winners

2009 — Golden Tate, Notre Dame

2008 — Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

2007 — Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

2006 — Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

2005 — Mike Haas, Oregon State

2004 — Braylon Edwards, Michigan

2003 — Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh

2002 — Charles Rogers, Michigan St.

2001 — Josh Reed, LSU

2000 — Antonio Bryant, Pittsburgh

1999 — Troy Walters, Stanford

1998 — Troy Edwards, Louisiana Tech

1997 — Randy Moss, Marshall

1996 — Marcus Harris, Wyoming

1995 — Terry Glenn, Ohio State

1994 — Bobby Engram, Penn State