Share “Longest-tenured Oklahoma high school...”

Longest-tenured Oklahoma high school basketball coaches

Millwood coach Varryl Franklin has been at the school for 30 years. But he's just one of many longtime high school basketball coaches in the state of Oklahoma.
Oklahoman Modified: February 25, 2009 at 10:30 pm •  Published: February 25, 2009

Joe Gilbert, Barnsdall, 54*

Arnelia Spears, Millwood, 38

Janith Johnson, Star Spencer, 33*

Varryl Franklin, Millwood, 30

Boyd Hauser, Tishomingo, 30*

Donny Tuley, Capitol Hill, 29

John Boeckman, Chisholm, 28

A.D. Burtschi, Putnam City, 26

Donna Dilks, Big Pasture, 26*

Allen Dukes, Del City boys, 26

Kevin Harrington, Lawton MacArthur, 26

Lee Reimer, Purcell, 25

Daryl Scales, Lookeba-Sickles, 25

Gil Turpin, New Lima, 24

Jerry Johnson, Bethel, 23*

Ray Kennedy, Hooker, 23*

Jim Walling, Earlsboro, 23

Jonita Ford Criddle, Tulsa Edison, 22*

Jim Petree, Thomas, 21

Chester Pittman, Oktaha, 20*

Doug Scott, Ripley, 20

Bob Weckstein, Frontier, 20

*Girls coach


  1. 1
    KFOR: Reports: Domestic shooting in northwest Oklahoma City
  2. 2
    Crime on the decline in Tulsa Housing Authority housing complexes
  3. 3
    Clinton aide may have 'delivered favors' for friends, IG finds
  4. 4
    Reba McEntire and husband Narvel Blackstock announce separation
  5. 5
    Firefighters battling north OKC apartment fire
+ show more


× Trending news Article