Share “Lovejoy, Jones lead early in PRC race”

Lovejoy, Jones lead early in PRC race

Published on NewsOK Modified: June 3, 2014 at 11:03 pm •  Published: June 3, 2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) — Former Public Regulation Commissioner Lynda Lovejoy was leading in early returns Tuesday night as she vied for her old seat on the powerful state panel.

Unofficial results showed Lovejoy leading incumbent Theresa Becenti-Aguilar and Cibola County businessman Edward Michael in District 4 with 44 percent of the vote.

With no Republican challenger, Tuesday's primary will effectively decide who wins the seat.

The race was tighter in District 5, where former Public Regulation Commissioner Sandy Jones was leading retired automotive executive Merrie Lee Soules with 51 percent of the vote.

The winner in that contest will face Republican incumbent Ben Hall in the general election.

Incumbent Republican Pat Lyons ran unopposed in District 2, and there were no Democrats vying for his seat.

One of New Mexico's most powerful and highest-paid commissions, the Public Regulation Commission's five members decide complex utility and telecommunication issues and regulate transportation, transmission and pipeline companies.

Continue reading this story on the...