BOSTON (AP) — Recipients of medical marijuana in Massachusetts would be allowed up to 10 ounces of pot for 60 days under proposed rules issued Friday by state health officials.
The draft recommendations also require all licensed marijuana dispensaries to cultivate their own supply of the drug, a rule intended to exert control over the process from planting through distribution.
Guidelines would be established for doctors and personal caregivers, periodic laboratory testing of marijuana supplies would be conducted to protect against contamination, and safeguards would be imposed to keep the drug from being misused or falling into the hands of youth.
Massachusetts voters approved a ballot question in November allowing medicinal marijuana for patients with certain conditions, including cancer, Parkinson's disease and AIDS. Officials chose not to add any other specific conditions in their recommended rules, saying they preferred to leave those decisions to doctors and patients.
The new law took effect on Jan. 1, but the Department of Public Health Department was given 120 days to draw up rules for implementing it. The recommendations issued on Friday must still win final approval from the state Public Health Council following public hearings scheduled for April 19 in Boston, Plymouth and Northampton.
Dr. Lauren Smith, interim commissioner of the DPH, said the proposed rules would create a "carefully crafted and sensible" system for dispensing medical marijuana.
"We have sought to achieve a balanced approach that will provide appropriate access to patients suffering from debilitating pain and illness, while at the same time maintaining a secure system that protects the health and safety of our communities," Smith said during a conference call with reporters.
In preparing the proposed regulations, officials consulted a variety of experts and reviewed medical marijuana laws in 17 other states, though it did not emulate the approach of any one particular state, Smith said.
The law allows for as many as 35 nonprofit dispensaries around the state where patients can receive up to a 60-day supply of marijuana.
A working group appointed by the state to draft the regulations opted for the 10-ounce limit after hearing recommendations that ranged from as little as 3 to 4 ounces to as much as 24 ounces. In "limited circumstances," doctors would have the authority to increase the supply of the drug.