Share “Metro-area sheriff candidates”

Metro-area sheriff candidates

Oklahoman Published: October 22, 2012

Metro-area sheriff candidates and the year they filed for bankruptcy:

Oklahoma County

• John Whetsel, current sheriff, 1987

Logan County

• James Bauman, current sheriff, 1999

• Ben McHand, challenger, 1995

Cleveland County

• Kelly Owings, challenger, 2004

Lincoln County

• Charlie Dougherty, current sheriff, 1996

• Wesley Scott Donovan, challenger, 1997

Grady County

• Jeff Franklin, challenger, 1999

McClain County

• Ryan Lake, challenger, 2004

Source: Federal bankruptcy court records

by Andrew Knittle
Investigative Reporter
Andrew Knittle has covered state water issues, tribal concerns and major criminal proceedings during his career as an Oklahoma journalist. He has won reporting awards from the state's Associated Press bureau and prides himself on finding a real...
+ show more


  1. 1
    OU researchers get $15 million grant to address heart health in state
  2. 2
    Aubrey McClendon: Fracking's Cowboy Rides Again
  3. 3
    Former Durant HS softball signs with USAO
  4. 4
    Deaths, gang activity surge as illegals flood border, 30,000 expected |
  5. 5
    A golf outing with Anthony Kim will cost you ... but it's for a good cause
+ show more