Mike Gundy named finalist for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year honors

By Brandon Chatmon Modified: December 13, 2010 at 9:08 pm •  Published: December 13, 2010

Oklahoma State football coach Mike Gundy was named a finalist for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award on Monday. Gundy is one of ten finalists, joining Auburn coach Gene Chizik, Michigan State coach Mark Dantonio, Oregon coach Chip Kelly and others.

Fans can play a role in selecting the winner of the award by casting their vote at http://coachoftheyear.com through December 28. Fan votes will account for 20 percent of the final tally, joining select members of the media (25 percent) and a selection committee comprised of College Football Hall of Fame members (55 percent).

If Gundy wins the award, he receives $50,000 to donate to the charity of his choice and a $20,000 grant to OSU's alumni association.

Previous winners including TCU's Gary Patterson (2009), Alabama's Nick Saban (2008) and Illinois' Ron Zook (2007).

Trending Now


  1. 1
    'Maze Runner' finds way to box office victory
  2. 2
    The first games that show off iOS 8's graphics are available for download
  3. 3
    Morrison grabs second half winner to hand his side all three points
  4. 4
    Foxes launch comback to secure stunning victory
  5. 5
    WATCH LIVE: Thousands Take To The Streets For The People's Climate March
+ show more