Share “Miss. votes Romney, re-elects Wicker, 4 US...”

Miss. votes Romney, re-elects Wicker, 4 US reps

Associated Press Published: November 6, 2012

The 1st district stretches across the Tennessee state line and includes Southaven, Oxford, Tupelo, Columbus and Louisville. It has all of 21 counties and part of Oktibbeha County.

Thompson, 64, of Bolton, has held the 2nd District seat since 1993 and is the longest-serving current member of Mississippi's House delegation. He is the top Democrat on the House Homeland Security Committee.

At his victory party in Bolton, Thompson said he served "two wild hogs that we killed and grilled," plus 300 pounds of catfish. He said Congress needs to pass a Farm Bill and head off automatic budget cuts before they take effect, as scheduled, in the coming months.

"These two items loom very large over our state because we're an agricultural state," Thompson said.

Thompson's Republican challenger, Republican Bill Marcy, 66, of Vicksburg, is a former Chicago police officer. Marcy courted tea party voters this year, as he did when he unsuccessfully challenged Thompson in 2010. Independent Cobby Mondale Williams, 36, of Canton is an urban planner tried to appeal to younger voters in the 2nd District this year. The Reform Party's Lajena Williams was also on the ballot.

The 2nd District stretches 200 miles alongside the Mississippi River. It includes all of 24 counties and parts of Hinds and Madison counties.

Harper, 56, of Pearl, is an attorney and first won the 3rd seat November 2008. He said he's focused his on his work on the Energy and Commerce Committee.

Crystal Biggs of Florence won the Democratic primary but withdrew from the race for health reasons. Democrats didn't replace her on the ballot. Reform Party candidate John "Luke" Pannell ran in the 3rd District but never filed a campaign finance report.

The 3rd District stretches from Wilkinson County by the Mississippi River, through the Jackson suburbs in Rankin County and up to Noxubee County, bordering Alabama. It includes 20 counties and parts of four.

Palazzo, 42, of Biloxi, is a Gulf War veteran who previously served in the state House of Representatives. He first won the 4th District seat November 2010 by defeating longtime Democratic Rep. Gene Taylor.

Palazzo's Democratic challenger this year was Matthew Moore, 36, of Biloxi, a community college honors student. Also running in the 4th District were Libertarian Ron Williams of Moss Point, who unsuccessfully sought the Republican nomination for governor in 2011; and the Reform Party's Robert Claunch of Diamondhead.

The 4th District stretches from the Gulf of Mexico up to the sand clay hills of Clarke County, south of Meridian. It includes Biloxi, Gulfport, Pascagoula and Hattiesburg, covering 13 counties and part of Clarke County.