Share “Moore Norman Technology Center honors...”

Moore Norman Technology Center honors graduates

A graduation ceremony for Moore Norman Technology Center students was held Tuesday in Moore.
FROM STAFF REPORTS Published: May 26, 2012

Moore Norman Technology Center handed out degrees and graduation certificates to 372 students in a ceremony Tuesday at First Baptist Church in Moore.

Superintendent Jane Bowen said the economic impact of members of the graduating class over their lifetimes would be in excess of $100 million. More than 28 graduates earned more than $500,000 in scholarships to continue their academic careers, she said.

Bowen also announced the winner and nominees for the postsecondary and secondary 2012 Superintendent's Awards. To qualify for the awards, students must exhibit personal goals, progress, accomplishments, attitude and good attendance.

The postsecondary Superintendent's Award went to Christy Jill Pratka. Britton D. Wilson earned the secondary Superintendent's Award.

In addition to the winner, nominees for the postsecondary honor were Logan R. Barton, Dixie K. Cupp, Steven M. Larkins, Lindsey J. McGirt, Melissa F.S. Ramirez and Steven M. Shell.

Besides Wilson, the secondary, or high school, nominees were Brianna R. Brown, Trevor J. Herrian, Kyle R. Lindsay, Aleena Beth Morgan, Larissa Pamela Murillo, Madison L. Ridley, Phillip D. Snow, Frank Weston Speer, Olivia Careese Thompson and Brooklyn Tachelle Wheeler.

Six students also earned associate degrees from Oklahoma City Community College while simultaneously enrolled in the Moore Norman Technology Center programs. They are Katie Anthony, Jessica A. Bell, David E. Brock, Dixie K. Cupp, Camille Ford-Adkins and Courtney Michelle Yuenger.