Moving decision faces candidates in special Oklahoma Senate race

The Democratic candidate for the Senate District 43 post says he has no plans to move to the district's new boundaries in order to seek re-election in 2012 while the Republican is exploring his options.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Published: August 27, 2011

One of the biggest decisions facing the winner of the special Senate District 43 race has to be made before the Oct. 11 election.

If they want to seek re-election, they have to move by Oct. 10.

The Senate District 43 seat was reconfigured and will be moved as part of the Senate redistricting plan that was approved this year. It is moving south from southern Oklahoma County and northern Cleveland County to cover all or parts of McClain, Garvin, Stephens and Grady counties.

Senate District 43 and other odd-numbered Senate district seats are up for election next year. Candidates must be registered voters living in their legislative district six months before the filing period.

The filing period for legislators was moved up from early June to April to comply with federal voting laws. Filing starts April 11.

State Election Board Secretary Paul Ziriax said that means legislative candidates have to be registered voters in their district by Oct. 10.

Candidates' plans

Democratic candidate Kenneth Meador, of Moore, said he isn't planning to run for the Senate District 43 post next year, while Republican Greg Childers, of Del City, said he is pondering what to do.

“I see this as an opportunity to serve the people of Senate District 43 as it currently stands,” said Meador, 30, a college student after serving three tours as a combat medic in Iraq. “I have no plans to move. ... We have absolutely no plans to uproot our family in order to pursue a job or a seat in the Senate.”

| |



House District 1 field set

None of the eight candidates in the special House District 1 race in southeastern Oklahoma withdrew by Friday's deadline. Nor did they file challenges to any of the contenders by the 5 p.m. Friday deadline. The primary election is set for Nov. 8 and the general election is set for Feb. 14. The special election is necessary to fill the vacant House District 1 post, which covers most of McCurtain County, after Rusty Farley, from Haworth, died in July. Eight candidates — four Republicans, two Democrats and two independents — filed for the post. Republican and Democratic nominees will be chosen in the Nov. 8 primary election, while the independent candidates automatically go on the Feb. 14 ballot. The Republican candidates are Joe Silk, Kenny Sivard, Kevin George and Keith Bain. Democratic contenders are Curtis McDaniel and Donald Ray, while the independent candidates are James Skipper and Bethany Farley.


Trending Now


  1. 1
    Former OU coach Sunny Golloway goes off at Auburn
  2. 2
    Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant
  3. 3
    Tulsa World: Missouri’s Frank Haith positioned to become TU’s basketball coach
  4. 4
    Oklahoma football: Peyton Manning stops by Sooners film session
  5. 5
    VIDEO: A look at the Air Jordan XX9 in Thunder colors
+ show more