MSU's Brad Daly wins Buchanan Award

Published on NewsOK Modified: December 16, 2013 at 1:32 pm •  Published: December 16, 2013

BOZEMAN, Mont. (AP) — Defensive end Brad Daly is the second consecutive Montana State football player to win the Buck Buchanan Award, which The Sports Network presents to the top defensive player in the FCS.

Caleb Schreibeis won last year.

Daly led the FCS with 14 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss this season and was named the Big Sky Conference co-defensive player of the year. He also tallied 68 tackles, two forced fumbles, two blocked kicks and an interception.

The senior from Helena received 64 of the 147 first-place votes from a national panel of sports information directors and media members that cover the FCS.

MSU coach Rob Ash says Daly was the heart and soul of his team's defense this year.

Previous Big Sky Conference players to win the Buchanan Award include Jared Allen at Idaho State in 2000 and Kroy Biermann of Montana in 2007. Allen plays for the Minnesota Vikings and Biermann for the Atlanta Falcons.


Trending Now


  1. 1
    KFOR: Biological mother wants adopted son back from powerful family
  2. 2
    Authorities: Dozen arrested in Oklahoma ranch meth lab investigation
  3. 3
    Photo Of Obama In Attack Ad Is Photoshopped From Hospital Trip After Aurora Shooting
  4. 4
    WATCH: Trailer for 'Iverson' documentary
  5. 5
    Herschel Walker says he could still play in NFL
+ show more