Nats Desmond has HR changed to 2B on replay review

Published on NewsOK Modified: April 4, 2014 at 2:18 pm •  Published: April 4, 2014

WASHINGTON (AP) — Ian Desmond's inside-the-park homer was overturned on replay review and changed to a ground-rule double in the fifth inning of Washington's game against Atlanta on Friday.

With the bases empty and one out, Desmond lined a shot down the third-base line. The ball wound up tucked under green wall padding, and Braves left fielder Justin Upton raised his arms. The umpires did not halt play, though, and Desmond rounded the bases for an apparent home run that would have made the score 1-1.

Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez came out to argue and request a replay review. The game was delayed for about five minutes before the ruling was changed and Desmond was sent to second base. He then got caught stealing, and the Nationals didn't score in the inning.