Share “NBA says refs blew crucial call in playoff...”

NBA says refs blew crucial call in playoff game

sports.yahoo.com Published: April 21, 2014

Los Angeles Clippers coach Doc Rivers appreciates the NBA admitting officials missed a key call in the Clippers' 109-105 loss to the Golden State Warriors in the opener of the first-round playoff series. But it didn't make him feel any better.



Yahoo Sports reports Rod Thorn, NBA president of basketball operations, said in a statement Sunday that Clippers guard Chris Paul should have received a foul call on the Warriors' Draymond Green that would have awarded him two free throws shots with 18.9 seconds left. The Warriors were leading 107-105 at the time. The NBA also stated officials correctly reviewed the ball went out of bounds off Paul after the uncalled foul. During the video review, referees are not allowed to retroactively assess a foul call, even if it has influence on possession.

"That was a big call," Rivers said before the Clippers' practice on Sunday. "Chris Paul goes to the line with two free throws to tie the game. Having said that, there's nothing we can do about it. A mistake happened on their end. But, we made our own mistakes. So, we have to take ownership of that.

H/T: Yahoo
See this story on sports.yahoo.com