NDSU's Bohl named FCS coach of the year again

Published on NewsOK Modified: December 17, 2013 at 6:35 am •  Published: December 17, 2013

FARGO, N.D. (AP) — Outgoing North Dakota State University head football coach Craig Bohl has been honored as the national coach of the year in the NCAA's Football Championship Subdivision for the second straight season.

Bohl was presented with the Eddie Robinson Award during a Monday awards banquet in Philadelphia. He is the first FCS coach to win the honor in consecutive seasons and only the second coach to win it twice. Former James Madison coach Mickey Matthews won it in 1999 and 2008.

Bohl has led the Bison to back-to-back FCS titles, and NDSU is a favorite to win a third straight championship this year. The Bison (13-0) play New Hampshire (10-4) in the FCS semifinals on Friday.

This is Bohl's last season coaching NDSU. He announced this month that he had accepted the head coaching job at Wyoming, which plays in the higher Football Bowl Subdivision.

Bohl collected 42 first-place votes and 418 points in the coach of the year voting done by a national panel of 147 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and others. Eastern Illinois' Dino Babers finished second in the voting with 370 points, and Maine's Jack Cosgrove was third with 260 points.

Continue reading this story on the...