Share “Notable wrestlers to be honored in Stillwater”

Notable wrestlers to be honored in Stillwater

Published on NewsOK Modified: June 17, 2014 at 2:06 am •  Published: June 17, 2014

STILLWATER, Okla. (AP) — Some of the most notable figures in the nation's wrestling community will be in Oklahoma this weekend to be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in Stillwater.

This year's class of inductees will receive plaques during an event Friday night, followed by a golf outing on Saturday and the 38th annual induction ceremony Saturday night.

This year's distinguished members are Eric Guerrero, a three-time NCAA champion and four-time All-American for Oklahoma State University; Dean Lahr, an NCAA champion for the University of Colorado; Mickey Martin, a two-time NCAA champ from the University of Oklahoma and Kerry McCoy, a two-time Olympian who won two NCAA titles for Penn State University.

The organization also will honor a wrestling official and outstanding high school grapplers, among others.


  1. 1
    Robert Bates' self-reported records appear to support allegations he patrolled before obtaining...
  2. 2
    Dispute: Was Cecil the lion's brother, Jericho, killed?
  3. 3
    An Oklahoma Immigrant's Experience, Recast As Noir, In 'Dragonfish'
  4. 4
    Summer well spent: Youths shadow professionals in mentoring program
  5. 5
    Norman residents disturbed after seeing vulgar, racist graffiti on homes, vehicles
+ show more


× Trending life Article