Share “OKC Thunder: Lakers' Kobe Bryant,...”

OKC Thunder: Lakers' Kobe Bryant, Thunder's Derek Fisher remain 'brothers'

Kobe Bryant and Derek Fisher entered the NBA together in 1996 and won five world championships side-by-side with the Los Angeles Lakers.
BY JOHN ROHDE, Staff Writer, Published: May 13, 2012

“It's not about keeping count, per se. But there's no question that once the opportunity presented itself to join this particular team (OKC) at the point I did this season, thoughts immediately went to how good we could possibly be – that we were good enough to win right now. We didn't have to wait until next year or some random time in the future. Those are where my thoughts still lie. That's how I will try to continue to focus as we go forward.”

One more championship ring will move either Bryant or Fisher past the halfway mark to Bill Russell's record 11 championships.

The top six players all played for the Boston Celtics from 1957-76 (see below).


11 -- Bill Russell (Boston)

10 – Sam Jones (Boston)

8 – John Havlicek (Boston); Tom Heinsohn (Boston); K.C. Jones (Boston); Tom Sanders (Boston)

7 – Robert Horry (Houston; LA Lakers; San Antonio); Frank Ramsey (Boston)

6 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee; LA Lakers); Bob Cousy (Boston); Michael Jordan (Chicago); Jim Loscutoff (Boston); Scottie Pippen (Chicago)

5 – Magic Johnson (LA Lakers); Kobe Bryant (LA Lakers); Derek Fisher (LA Lakers); Michael Cooper (LA Lakers); Ron Harper (Chicago; LA Lakers); Steve Kerr (Chicago; San Antonio); Slater Martin (Minneapolis; St. Louis); George Mikan (Minneapolis); Don Nelson (Boston); Jim Pollard (Minneapolis); Dennis Rodman (Detroit; Chicago); Larry Siegfried (Boston)

× Trending thunder Article