Share “Oklahoma City school foundation honors...”

Oklahoma City school foundation honors volunteers

The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools has named its six volunteers of the year.
BY CARRIE COPPERNOLL Modified: April 4, 2013 at 5:40 pm •  Published: April 5, 2013

• Darron Lamkin for Northeast Academy of Health Sciences and Engineering, 3100 N Kelley. Lamkin has spent more than 1,200 hours volunteering at the school during the past two years. The graduate student serves as a mentor and helps encourage students to prepare for and go on to college. He was nominated by teacher Jennifer Ceville.

• Jana Mellen for Wilson Elementary School, 501 NW 21. The mother of two helps in the library, main office and with the Parent Teacher Association. She was nominated by teacher Debbie Brashier.

• Darin Nelson for Linwood Elementary School, 3416 NW 17. Nelson has tutored students of all ages at Linwood every week for the past three years. He was nominated by teacher Laurie Cochran.