Share “Oklahoma elections: Voters in Oklahoma...”

Oklahoma elections: Voters in Oklahoma City metro-area counties elect sheriffs

Voters in every county in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area decided who will be the county's top law officer for the next four years.
BY ANDREW KNITTLE AND JACLYN COSGROVE Modified: November 7, 2012 at 1:12 am •  Published: November 6, 2012

Canadian County Sheriff Randall Edwards defeated a former subordinate Tuesday night.

Edwards, a former businessman, rancher and Marine, was first elected sheriff in 2008, defeating incumbent Lewis Hawkins by a wide margin.

Edwards beat former deputy Joshua Moore, an independent with 13 years' experience in law enforcement, by a vote of 29,133 to 15,245.

In Logan County, Sheriff James Bauman won another term in office. He took over as sheriff in 2008, defeating then-incumbent Randy Richardson.

Bauman, a Republican, defeated Ben McHand and John W. Marshall on Tuesday, grabbing 60 percent of the vote.

Lincoln County Sheriff Charlie Dougherty defeated challenger W. Scott Donovan.

Dougherty, a Democrat, defeated his Republican opponent by a vote of 7,315 to 5,394. He became Lincoln County sheriff in 2010.

In McClain County, incumbent Don Hewett, a Democrat who became sheriff in 1999, defeated challenger Ryan Lake by a 8,100-6,059 vote, with all precincts reporting.

Grady County will have a new sheriff early next year after Republican candidate Jim Weir won a three-way race Tuesday night.

Weir defeated Democrat Jeffrey Franklin and independent Charles Birchell, netting more than 70 percent of the vote.