Share “Oklahoma football: A look at what state...”

Oklahoma football: A look at what state Sooner quarterbacks hail from

We've divided the Sooners' 55 starting quarterbacks since 1946 — the first OU's offense included a defined “quarterback” position — by their home states.
by Jason Kersey Published: August 25, 2013

Texas (16): Jimmy Harris (Terrell); Bobby Boyd (Garland); Jimmy Carpenter (Abilene); Monte Deere (Amarillo); Bob Page (Borger); Bobby Page (Wolfe City); Norman Smith (Monahans); Jack Mildren (Abilene); Thomas Lott (San Antonio); Darrell Shepard (Odessa); Steve Collins (Ennis); Terence Brown (Sugar Land); Eric Moore (Dallas); Paul Thompson (Leander); Rhett Bomar (Grand Prairie); Trevor Knight (San Antonio)

Kansas (2): Jack Mitchell (Arkansas City); Jake Sills (Garden City)

California (2): Dave Robertson (Garden Grove); Jamelle Holieway (Wilmington);

Arkansas (2): Danny Bradley (Pine Bluff); Eric Mitchel (Pine Bluff)

Tennessee (1): Buddy Leake (Memphis)

South Dakota (1): Josh Heupel (Aberdeen)

Georgia (1): Nate Hybl (Hazlehurst)

New Mexico (1): Landry Jones (Artesia)

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Oklahoma football: Sooners eighth on Forbes' list of College Football's Most Valuable teams
  2. 2
    Nevada goats help eat, recycle Christmas trees
  3. 3
    Jack Daniels' son is Jim Beam
  4. 4
    Monkey gives first aid to unconscious friend
  5. 5
    Tony Romo calls Pro Bowl an honor, but hopes Cowboys can't play
+ show more