Share “Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry declares state of...”

Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry declares state of emergency in 31 counties

BY MICHAEL MCNUTT - Capitol Bureau Modified: April 11, 2009 at 7:49 am •  Published: April 10, 2009
The governor today declared a state of emergency for 31 counties where wildfires and severe weather caused widespread damage.

Under his executive order, state agencies may make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to speed up the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Counties included in the executive order are: Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Garvin, Grady, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Kiowa, LeFlore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, McClain, Murray, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Stephens, Tillman and Washita.

LeFlore County is included because of damages sustained from a tornado and severe storms. More counties can be added to the order as additional information becomes available.

The declaration is part of wide-ranging state efforts to pool resources and assess damages after wildfires Thursday injured at least 49 people and damaged or destroyed an estimated 100 homes and other structures. Midwest City and the nearby towns of Choctaw and Nicoma Park were especially hard hit, but fires caused significant damage in many other sections of Oklahoma.


  1. 1
    This map shows the biggest music festival in Oklahoma, other states
  2. 2
    Bristol Palin Slams Washington State Initiative to Give Free Birth Control to Minors
  3. 3
    Oregon pot stores sell more than $11 million in first 5 days
  4. 4
    Sigourney Weaver turns 66: Then and now
  5. 5
    Not Sucking in Their Seventies: Rock Lifers Go the Distance
+ show more


× Trending politics Article