Share “Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin names two new...”

Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin names two new Cabinet secretaries

BY MICHAEL MCNUTT BY YOUR NAME Staff Writer Modified: July 16, 2013 at 8:49 pm •  Published: July 16, 2013

Fallin said she created the tourism secretary to reflect the importance of tourism to Oklahoma's economy.

Snodgrass begins serving in her Cabinet position immediately, according to the governor's office.

Fallin named her to lead the Tourism Department shortly after taking office in 2011. Snodgrass headed up Fallin's inaugural committee and was a founding partner of the public policy and research firm Cole, Hargrave, Snodgrass and Associates, a Republican political consulting firm.

“Travel and tourism dollars generate over a billion dollars in annual revenue for Oklahoma's state and local governments, and help to support almost 80,000 jobs,” Fallin said.

Snodgrass, as tourism secretary, will ensure that the tourism industry “continues to be well-represented in the highest levels of the executive branch,” the governor said.

Other changes

Fallin also combined the positions of secretary of energy and secretary of environment, creating a new secretary of energy and environment. She has 30 days to fill the position.

The governor also combined the secretary of information technology position with the secretary of finance position held by Preston Doerflinger, the director of the state office of Management and Enterprise Services.

His expanded title is secretary of finance, administration and information technology. Former Secretary of Information Technology Alex Pettit will no longer be on the Cabinet but will continue to serve as the state's chief information officer.

Fallin said the move to expand the finance secretary's title and responsibilities reflects the reorganizations that have occurred under government consolidation. With the former state finance office now consolidated with several agencies to form the Office of Management and Enterprise Services, the finance secretary has a bigger role.

Governor's Cabinet

Gov. Mary Fallin has 13 positions on her Cabinet.

• Agriculture Secretary Jim Reese

• Commerce Secretary Dave Lopez

• Education and Workforce Secretary Robert Sommers

• Energy and environment secretary (vacant)

• Finance, Administration and Information Technology Secretary Preston Doerflinger

• Health and Human Services Secretary Terry Cline

• Military Secretary Maj. Gen. Myles Deering

• Safety and Security Secretary Michael Thompson

• Science and Technology Secretary Stephen McKeever

• Secretary of State Larry Parman

• Tourism Secretary Deby Snodgrass

• Transportation Secretary Gary Ridley

• Veterans Affairs Secretary Rita Aragon


  1. 1
    The Quality Of Health Care You Receive Likely Depends On Your Skin Color
  2. 2
    Former OKC Hornets player Jackson Vroman dies
  3. 3
    Report: Phil Mickelson tied to nearly $3 million in money laundering, gambling
  4. 4
    Dylan Bundy, former Owasso pitcher, shut down by Baltimore Orioles
  5. 5
    County OKs Tulsa Sheriff's Office use of outside counsel to fight grand jury petition
+ show more