Share “Oklahoma House committee leaders named”

Oklahoma House committee leaders named

The incoming House speaker has formed a new committee to look into Oklahoma's sovereign rights.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Modified: December 13, 2012 at 9:24 pm •  Published: December 14, 2012

A new House of Representatives committee will explore Oklahoma's sovereign rights, and a lawmaker booted as chairman by the previous speaker is back in charge of the energy panel, according to committee assignments announced Thursday.

House Speaker-elect T.W. Shannon kept many of the standing committees, and created two more, including the States' Rights Committee. The House now has 19 committees.

Shannon, R-Lawton, named Rep. John Trebilcock, R-Broken Arrow, chairman of the House Energy and Aerospace Committee.

Former House Speaker Kris Steele removed Trebilcock in November 2011 as chairman of the previously named House Energy and Utility Regulation Committee. Trebilcock claimed the move was in retaliation for his voting for Shannon to be the next speaker instead of Steele's choice. Steele denied it.

Shannon also splintered the education budget subcommittee into three separate panels — one each for higher education, common education and CareerTech.

Shannon named only Republicans, who outnumber Democrats 72-29, as committee chairmen. He named three Democrats to be committee vice chairmen.

Continue reading this story on the...


House committee leaders

The House committee chairmen and vice chairmen for the upcoming session:

• Administrative Rules, Government Oversight and Repealer Committee: Rep. Gus Blackwell, R-Laverne, chairman; Rep. Dan Fisher, R-El Reno, vice chairman

• Agriculture and Wildlife Committee: Rep. Dale DeWitt, R-Braman, chairman; Rep. Steve Vaughan, R-Ponca City, vice chairman

• Appropriations and Budget Committee: Rep. Scott Martin, R-Norman, chairman; Rep. Tom Newell, R-Seminole, vice chairman

• Common Education Committee: Rep. Ann Coody, R-Lawton, chairman; Rep. Dennis Casey, R-Morrison, vice chairman

• Economic Development and Financial Services Committee: Rep. Randy McDaniel, R-Oklahoma City, chairman; Rep. Dustin Roberts, R-Durant, vice chairman

• Energy and Aerospace Committee: Rep. John Trebilcock, R-Broken Arrow, chairman; Rep. Weldon Watson, R-Tulsa, vice chairman

• General Government Committee: Rep. Paul Wesselhoft, R-Midwest City, chairman; Rep. Terry O'Donnell, R-Catoosa, vice chairman

• Government Modernization Committee: Rep. Jason Murphey, R-Guthrie, chairman; Rep. Mike Turner, R-Edmond, vice chairman

• Higher Education and CareerTech Committee: Rep. Harold Wright, R-Weatherford, chairman; Rep. Justin Wood, R-Shawnee, vice chairman

• Human Services Committee: Rep. Pat Ownbey, R-Ardmore, chairman; Rep. Anastasia Pittman, D-Oklahoma City, vice chairman

• Insurance Committee: Rep. Dan Kirby, R-Tulsa, chairman; Rep. Marty Quinn, R-Claremore, vice chairman

• Judiciary Committee: Rep. Leslie Osborn, R-Mustang, chairman; Rep. Aaron Stiles, R-Norman, vice chairman

• Long-term Care and Senior Services Committee: Rep. David Dank, R-Oklahoma City, chairman; Rep. Donnie Condit, D-McAlester, vice chairman

• Public Health Committee: Rep. David Derby, R-Owasso, chairman; Rep. Glen Mulready, R-Tulsa, vice chairman

• Public Safety Committee: Rep. Steve Martin, R-Bartlesville, chairman; Rep. Ken Walker, R-Tulsa, vice chairman

• Rules Committee: Rep. Todd Russ, R-Cordell, chairman; Rep. Marian Cooksey, R-Edmond, vice chairman

• States' Rights Committee: Rep. Lewis Moore, R-Arcadia, chairman; Rep. Sean Roberts, R-Hominy, vice chairman

• Tourism and International Relations Committee: Rep. Charles Ortega, R-Altus, chairman; Rep. R.C. Pruett, D-Antlers, vice chairman

• Transportation Committee: Rep. Charlie Joyner, R-Midwest City, chairman; Rep. John Bennett, R-Sallisaw, vice chairman

• Utility and Environmental Regulation Committee: Rep. Colby Schwartz, R-Yukon, chairman; Rep. Mark McBride, R-Moore, vice chairman

• Veterans and Military Affairs Committee: Rep. Gary Banz, R-Midwest City, chairman; Rep. Tommy Hardin, R-Madill, vice chairman


  1. 1
    OKC Thunder's Russell Westbrook marries Nina Earl in star-studded Beverly Hills ceremony
  2. 2
    Obama Renames Mt. McKinley 'Denali' Ahead of Alaska Trip
  3. 3
    2015 US Open -- Maria Sharapova announces she will not play
  4. 4
    Neurologist and Writer Oliver Sacks Dies at 82
  5. 5
    What "Games Of Thrones" Characters Look Like In The Books
+ show more


× Trending politics Article