Share “Oklahoma House committee leaders named”

Oklahoma House committee leaders named

The incoming House speaker has formed a new committee to look into Oklahoma's sovereign rights.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Modified: December 13, 2012 at 9:24 pm •  Published: December 14, 2012

He didn't name any Democrat to serve as chairman or vice chairman of a budget subcommittee.

He also showed a lot of confidence in the 13 GOP freshmen. He named six of them to serve as committee vice chairmen and tabbed four others to serve as vice chairmen of budget subcommittees.

Rep. Randy McDaniel, R-Oklahoma City, will continue to serve as chairman of an economic development committee as well as continue to head up a special pension oversight committee.

Shannon named Rep. David Dank, R-Oklahoma City, to continue to head up a panel to examine business tax credits and incentives. Dank also was named chairman of the Long-term Care and Senior Services Committee.


House committee leaders

The House committee chairmen and vice chairmen for the upcoming session:

• Administrative Rules, Government Oversight and Repealer Committee: Rep. Gus Blackwell, R-Laverne, chairman; Rep. Dan Fisher, R-El Reno, vice chairman

• Agriculture and Wildlife Committee: Rep. Dale DeWitt, R-Braman, chairman; Rep. Steve Vaughan, R-Ponca City, vice chairman

• Appropriations and Budget Committee: Rep. Scott Martin, R-Norman, chairman; Rep. Tom Newell, R-Seminole, vice chairman

• Common Education Committee: Rep. Ann Coody, R-Lawton, chairman; Rep. Dennis Casey, R-Morrison, vice chairman

• Economic Development and Financial Services Committee: Rep. Randy McDaniel, R-Oklahoma City, chairman; Rep. Dustin Roberts, R-Durant, vice chairman

• Energy and Aerospace Committee: Rep. John Trebilcock, R-Broken Arrow, chairman; Rep. Weldon Watson, R-Tulsa, vice chairman

• General Government Committee: Rep. Paul Wesselhoft, R-Midwest City, chairman; Rep. Terry O'Donnell, R-Catoosa, vice chairman

• Government Modernization Committee: Rep. Jason Murphey, R-Guthrie, chairman; Rep. Mike Turner, R-Edmond, vice chairman

• Higher Education and CareerTech Committee: Rep. Harold Wright, R-Weatherford, chairman; Rep. Justin Wood, R-Shawnee, vice chairman

• Human Services Committee: Rep. Pat Ownbey, R-Ardmore, chairman; Rep. Anastasia Pittman, D-Oklahoma City, vice chairman

• Insurance Committee: Rep. Dan Kirby, R-Tulsa, chairman; Rep. Marty Quinn, R-Claremore, vice chairman

• Judiciary Committee: Rep. Leslie Osborn, R-Mustang, chairman; Rep. Aaron Stiles, R-Norman, vice chairman

• Long-term Care and Senior Services Committee: Rep. David Dank, R-Oklahoma City, chairman; Rep. Donnie Condit, D-McAlester, vice chairman

• Public Health Committee: Rep. David Derby, R-Owasso, chairman; Rep. Glen Mulready, R-Tulsa, vice chairman

• Public Safety Committee: Rep. Steve Martin, R-Bartlesville, chairman; Rep. Ken Walker, R-Tulsa, vice chairman

• Rules Committee: Rep. Todd Russ, R-Cordell, chairman; Rep. Marian Cooksey, R-Edmond, vice chairman

• States' Rights Committee: Rep. Lewis Moore, R-Arcadia, chairman; Rep. Sean Roberts, R-Hominy, vice chairman

• Tourism and International Relations Committee: Rep. Charles Ortega, R-Altus, chairman; Rep. R.C. Pruett, D-Antlers, vice chairman

• Transportation Committee: Rep. Charlie Joyner, R-Midwest City, chairman; Rep. John Bennett, R-Sallisaw, vice chairman

• Utility and Environmental Regulation Committee: Rep. Colby Schwartz, R-Yukon, chairman; Rep. Mark McBride, R-Moore, vice chairman

• Veterans and Military Affairs Committee: Rep. Gary Banz, R-Midwest City, chairman; Rep. Tommy Hardin, R-Madill, vice chairman

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Defendant in jailer groping case pleads guilty to lesser charge
  2. 2
    OSU basketball: Cowboys celebrate 20th anniversary of 1995 Final Four team
  3. 3
    Free Coffee at Chick-fil-A for Entire Month of February
  4. 4
    Missy Elliott Will Join Katy Perry's Super Bowl Halftime Show
  5. 5
    Snapchat is premiering its own Web series tomorrow
+ show more