Share “Oklahoma scene: Former OSU wrestler Mike...”

Oklahoma scene: Former OSU wrestler Mike Jones named Gallagher Award winner

Jones, who lettered for the Cowboys in 1982, has been a longtime high school wrestling coach and referee.
Modified: February 27, 2014 at 10:18 pm •  Published: February 27, 2014

Jones named Gallagher Award winner

Former Oklahoma State Mike Jones was named winner of the 2014 Gallagher Award, which goes to an wrestling alumnus who exemplifies the spirit and leadership eminent in the tradition of champions. OSU wrestling coach John Smith made the announcement Thursday, saying, “He’s spent more than 30 years in this sport and has been a great coach to many young people. He’s made wrestling a lot better, especially in the state of Oklahoma.”

Jones, who lettered for the Cowboys in 1982 and served as an assistant coach in 1983, will be presented the award on Sunday, when OSU hosts American University at 2 p.m. in Gallagher-Iba Arena. Jones is currently in his fourth season as Bixby High School wrestling coach. He has also spent eight years as a referee.


University of Central Oklahoma wrestler Cory Dauphin is the No. 1 seed at 157 pounds for the NCAA Division II Central Super Regional, which begins at 10 a.m. Friday at Hamilton Field House in Edmond. Dauphin is the defending champion at the weight and ranked No. 1 in the nation. The former El Reno High standout has won 47 consecutive matches, which is tied for the longest in UCO history.

He will face Daniel Murakami of Minnesota State-Moorhead in the first round.

Second session matches will start at 5 p.m. Friday. Action continues at 9 a.m. Saturday, with placement matches set for a 1 p.m. start.

Continue reading this story on the...

× Trending osu Article