Share “Oklahoma state Capitol briefs, July 25”

Oklahoma state Capitol briefs, July 25

Oklahoma state Capitol briefs for July 25, 2013.
Published: July 25, 2013

Capitol briefs

Emergency declared for 35 counties

Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency Wednesday for 35 Oklahoma counties because of severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding that began Tuesday. Counties covered in the declaration are Adair, Atoka, Cherokee, Coal, Craig, Delaware, Creek, Haskell, Hughes, Kay, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, McIntosh, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington. Heavy winds and flooding have led to damage across the state and left many without power, especially in the Tulsa area, Fallin said. Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Continue reading this story on the...