OSU linebacker Alex Elkins went low to meet Bergeron in the hole, and stuck his helmet on the ball, dislodging it from Bergeron's grasp. With the ball on the ground, apparently not yet to the goal line in a replay view of the play, Lowe charged in and scooped it up.
Umpire Scott Teifer, standing in the end zone and watching the play unfold, and watching Lowe dive into the scrum, seemed disinterested in any potential fumble, only asking Lowe for the ball after the touchdown had already been signaled.
Lowe objected and began pleading his case.
On the Fox broadcast of the game, Mike Pereira, the former vice president of officiating in the NFL and the current rules analyst at Fox Sports, said that Texas indeed fumbled, but OSU's recovery was not called before the scrum, so the Cowboys could not be awarded the ball.
None of that will soothe the Cowboys or Gundy, who would have emerged the victor if the call had gone their way.
Still, Gundy said he wasn't sure he'd be in any hurry to take his first look at the replay.
“Well, I don't know, because I can't change it now,” Gundy said. “If I could change it…”