STILLWATER – Mike Gundy had no view of the fumble/no fumble that became the winning touchdown for Texas.
He only had the word of Cowboys safety Daytawion Lowe, who emerged from a goal-line scrum with the ball.
And Lowe's word had already failed with the game officials, who ruled a touchdown for Texas running back Joe Bergeron – a ruling that was upheld by the replay official – resulting in the decisive points in the Longhorns' 41-36 win.
“I only know what people told me,” Gundy said. “I'm not commenting on officiating, but our guy said he fumbled and he got it. That's why I was running down the sideline. I didn't see it because of the pile. But our guys said that he fumbled the ball back here… and he said he got it. That's all I know.
“But they reviewed it, so somebody took a look at it and obviously didn't think it was a fumble.”
Not so obviously, apparently.
On Twitter following the game, ESPN's Skip Bayless weighed in: “Okla State just got robbed of a win over Texas when replay failed to reverse the winning TD. Obvious fumble recovered by OSU. Refs choke.”
The setting: after OSU had gone ahead 36-34 on a Quinn Sharp field goal with 2:34 remaining, Texas marched to the Cowboys 2. On second-and-goal from there, Bergeron took a handoff up the middle and plunged toward the goal line.
OSU linebacker Alex Elkins went low to meet Bergeron in the hole, and stuck his helmet on the ball, dislodging it from Bergeron's grasp. With the ball on the ground, apparently not yet to the goal line in a replay view of the play, Lowe charged in and scooped it up.
Umpire Scott Teifer, standing in the end zone and watching the play unfold, and watching Lowe dive into the scrum, seemed disinterested in any potential fumble, only asking Lowe for the ball after the touchdown had already been signaled.
Lowe objected and began pleading his case.
On the Fox broadcast of the game, Mike Pereira, the former vice president of officiating in the NFL and the current rules analyst at Fox Sports, said that Texas indeed fumbled, but OSU's recovery was not called before the scrum, so the Cowboys could not be awarded the ball.
None of that will soothe the Cowboys or Gundy, who would have emerged the victor if the call had gone their way.
Still, Gundy said he wasn't sure he'd be in any hurry to take his first look at the replay.
“Well, I don't know, because I can't change it now,” Gundy said. “If I could change it…”