Share “Oklahoman All-State football facts: The 7s”

Oklahoman All-State football facts: The 7s

100 YEARS OF OKLAHOMAN ALL-STATE FOOTBALL TEAMS — The first Oklahoman All-State team was published on Dec. 7, 1913. As we count down until the 100th team, we take a look back at the teams from each year ending in the number 7.
BY SCOTT WRIGHT Published: December 1, 2012

And he's the father of North head coach Jeremy Dombek, who also played at Henryetta, where Ronnie moved back to with his wife, Nancy, after college.

A few years ago, an all-time team from the schools of Okmulgee County was named. Ronnie made the team as a running back, but Jeremy didn't make it at quarterback.

“He gave me a hard time about that,” Jeremy said with a laugh. “But I told him, I had Troy Aikman playing my position.”

1967: Bell family tradition

Clinton back Roy Bell rushed for 1,842 yards and scored 276 points as a senior, earning Back of the Year honors on the 1967 football team.

He was following in the footsteps — sort of — of his older brothers.

Melvin and Carlos Bell were each named Basketball Players of the Year in previous seasons.

Roy Bell guided Clinton to its second state championship in 1967, a total that reached 16 on Saturday.

1977: Quarterbacks reigned

The quarterback class of 1977 was extremely impressive. Players like Charles Davis of Tulsa Washington, Smokey McCarthey of Del City and Randy Page of Southeast made the team alongside the co-Backs of the Year.

It also included Putnam City's Kelly Phelps, who went on to start at Oklahoma, and Putnam City West's Scott Tinsley, who played at Southern Cal, then in the NFL.

1987: Brewer earns distinction

Lawton running back Dewell Brewer was clearly the most deserving player for the Back of the Year award in 1987, but it came with a historic touch.

Brewer rushed for 1,871 yards and 26 touchdowns, guiding the Wolverines to a 14-0 record and the Class 5A state title.

But Brewer was only a junior — the first junior to win Back of the Year. Now an assistant at Lawton High, won the award again in 1988 to become the first two-time winner.

The 1987 team also included the first eight-man player selected to the first team in Welch's 6-foot-5, 250-pound Stacey Satterwhite.

1997: Jenks history

All throughout the state in 1997, media, coaches and fans were declaring Jenks one of the best teams in state history, and it's hard to argue. Adding more ammunition, Jenks had four All-Staters in 1997, the first team to have four players selected.

Defensive Player of the Year Rocky Calmus was joined by offensive lineman Sean Mahan and defensive linemen Brad Hawkins and Jason Lohr. Justin Dixon and Brett Butler joined the roster as second-team players.

2007: Cowboy success

The 2007 team was dotted with several future major-college players, but Oklahoma State had the most success with the first-teamers.

Plainview receiver Justin Blackmon starred for the Pokes before being selected by Jacksonville in the first round of last spring's NFL Draft.

Meanwhile, Carl Albert safety Daytawion Lowe, Owasso offensive lineman Brandon Webb and Guthrie running back Kye Staley — the Offensive Player of the Year — are still playing key roles for the Cowboys this season.

And it's not just football. OSU baseball standout Mark Ginther of Jenks was the first-team quarterback.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    NTSB report: Engines accidentally shut down in crash that killed former Oklahoma QB Steve Davis
  2. 2
    VIDEO: Russell Westbrook runs length of the court, throws down two-handed dunk against Sixers
  3. 3
    Bartlesville man sentenced to prison for feeding child marijuana
  4. 4
    Hundreds more correctional officers needed, director of prisons tells state Senate committee
  5. 5
    John Klein: They're both amazing, but Bill Self's run at KU is more impressive than Bob Stoops'...
+ show more