Share “Oklahoman staff wins 20 honors”

Oklahoman staff wins 20 honors

FROM STAFF REPORTS Published: June 21, 2009

/> Bryan Dean, John Estus, Jay Marks and Nolan Clay, Government and Political Writing for their coverage of the Oklahoma County jail.

Berry Tramel and Darnell Mayberry, Sports Spot News for the announcement of an NBA team in Oklahoma City.

John Rohde, Sports Feature for a story about Bobby Murcer’s death.

Gene Triplett, Entertainment Feature for a preview of the Flaming Lips’ New Year’s concert.

David Zizzo, Specialty Feature for a story about his first skydiving trip.

Chad Anderson, Best News Headline Portfolio for his headline writing.

Phillip Baeza, Special Section Layout for the 2008 high school football preview.

Paul Hellstern, News Photo of President George W. Bush visiting Oklahoma.

Jim Beckel, Feature Photography single photo of a crying boy visiting Santa Claus.

Steve Gooch, Spot News Photography for boat race coverage.

Chris Landsberger, Sports Photo for a picture of Sam Bradford.

John Clanton, Web Slideshow Photography., Best Web Site Design.

Berry Tramel, Blog for his sports coverage. staff, Web Site Videography for "Wayman Tisdale’s New Leg.”

Oklahoman and staff members were finalists in 12 other categories:

Jesse Olivarez, Feature.

Steve Lackmeyer, Business Reporting.

Jenni Carlson, Sports Column.

Gene Triplett, Review.

J. E. McReynolds, Editorial.

Ron Jackson, Newspaper Writing Portfolio.

Erica Smith, Best Feature Headline Portfolio.

Sarah Phipps, General Photography.

Jim Beckel, Feature Photography multiple photos. Know Its, Web Site Special Section. staff, Web Site Videography for "Cold Case.”, Best Web Site.