Share “Oklahoman Super 5 boys basketball team:...”

Oklahoman Super 5 boys basketball team: Past teams, players and coaches of the year

A look at the past winners of The Oklahoman's boys basketball awards.
Oklahoman Published: April 6, 2013

photo - The Oklahoman's Super 5 team: Jordan Woodard, Jaylen Lowe, Stephen Clark, Shaquille Morris and Seth Youngblood. PHOTO BY BRYAN TERRY; PHOTO ILLUSTRATION BY BILL BOOTZ
The Oklahoman's Super 5 team: Jordan Woodard, Jaylen Lowe, Stephen Clark, Shaquille Morris and Seth Youngblood. PHOTO BY BRYAN TERRY; PHOTO ILLUSTRATION BY BILL BOOTZ

1983: Darryl Kennedy, Northwest; Kevin Rehl, Velma Alma; Archie Marshall, Tulsa Edison; Karl McCauley, Star Spencer; Billy Johnson, Grant.

1982: Mark Price, Enid; Creason Hay, Tulsa Washington; Wayman Tisdale, Tulsa Washington; Jay Davis, Edmond Memorial; Steve Hale, Jenks.

1981: Bill Self, Edmond Memorial; Joe Atkinson, Coyle; Kyp Hardaway, Tulsa Memorial; William Tisdale, Tulsa Washington; Wayman Tisdale, Tulsa Washington.


2012: Stephen Clark, Douglass

2011: Ryan Spangler, Bridge Creek

2010: Tyler Neal, Putnam City West

2009: Xavier Henry, Putnam City

2008: Keiton Page, Pawnee

2007: Blake Griffin, Oklahoma Christian School

2006: Keith Clark, Putnam City

2005: Obi Muonelo, Edmond Santa Fe

2004: Marchello Vealy, Southeast

2003: Caleb Green, Tulsa Memorial

2002: Kevin Bookout, Stroud

2001: Shelden Williams, Midwest City

2000: Terrence Crawford, Bishop McGuinness

1999: Ebi Ere, Tulsa McLain

1998: Demetrius Gatewood, Tulsa Central, and Rebel Paulk, Blanchard

1997: Ryan Humphrey, Tulsa Washington, and Terrell Hill, Carnegie

1996: Joe Adkins, John Marshall, and Eric Coley, Eufaula

1995: Derrick Moore, Ardmore, and G.G. Smith, Tulsa Cascia Hall

1994: Malcolm Johnson, Lawton, and Mike Jones, Casady

1993: Shea Seals, Tulsa McLain, and Chianti Roberts, Oklahoma Christian

1992: Ben Peabody, Norman, and Ryan Minor, Hammon

1991: Anthony Bruner, Norman, and Shon Alexander, Preston

1990: Fred Burley, Douglass, and Justin Sylvester, Cyril

1989: Jeff Webster, Carl Albert, and Ty Harman, Maud

1988: Byron Houston, Star Spencer, and Melvin Pouncil, Boynton-Moton

1987: Mike Maddox, Putnam North, and Robert Gardner, Grant

1986: Kevin Pritchard, Tulsa Edison, and Royce Jeffries, Grant

1985: Leonard Flowers, El Reno, and Anthony Phillips, Smithville

1984: Tracy Moore, John Marshall, and Jimmy Davis, Velma-Alma, and Darin Melka, Medford

1983: Darryl Kennedy, Northwest, and Kevin Rehl, Velma-Alma

1982: Mark Price, Enid, and Wayne Parker, Taft

1981: Bill Self, Edmond Memorial, and Joe Atkinson, Coyle

1980: Prince Bridges, Classen

1979: Bo Overton, Ada

1978: Matt Clark, Southeast

1977: Randy Wright, Yukon

1976: Dwayne Williams, Southeast

1975: Winford Boynes, Capitol Hill

1974: Steve Neff, Putnam West

1973: Winford Boynes, Capitol Hill

1972: Alvan Adams, Putnam City

1971: Robert Iverson, Tulsa Webster

1970: John Carroll, Norman

1969: Norman Russell, Mountain View, and Mike Cordes, Ringwood

1968: Larry Hardeman, New Lima

1967: Ray Russell, Northeast, and Amos Thomas, Douglass

1966: Carlos Bell, Clinton

1965: Melvin Bell, Clinton

1964: Terry Due, Duncan

1963: Jim Johnson, Duncan

1962: Rich Calmus, T. Webster

1961: Carlos Gripado, Pawhuska

1960: Jim Barnes, Stillwater

1959: Max Shuck, Waynoka

1958: Gary White, Midwest City

1957: David Voss, Coweta

1956: Dennis Price, Norman

1955: Arien Clark, Colbert

1954: Hubert Reed, Capitol Hill

1953: Jimmy Peck, Leedey


2012: Rudy Garcia, Tulsa Union

2011: Scott Raper, Centennial

2010: Tyrone Nash, Western Heights

2009: David Page, Pawnee

2008: Eric Savage, Tulsa Memorial

2007: Jay Price, Carl Albert

2006: A.D. Burtschi, Putnam City

2005: Jeff Coleman, Idabel

2004: Rudy Garcia, Tulsa Union

2003: Doug Schumpert, Anadarko

2002: A.D. Burtschi, Putnam City

2001: Terry Evans, Midwest City

2000: David Page, Yale

1999: Bob Weckstein, Frontier

1998: Terry Scott, Tulsa Central, and Clyde Barkley, Inola

1997: Nate Harris, Tulsa Washington, and Jerry Belton, Boynton-Moton

1996: Tommy Griffin, John Marshall, and Jim Mathews, Wewoka

1995: Danny Limes, Tulsa Bishop Kelley, and Don Hillyard, Hugo

1994: Mike O'Rourke, Tulsa Memorial and Terry Elam, Coyle

1993: Mike de la Garza, Edmond Memorial, and Ted Younts, Ardmore, and Jim Walling, Earlsboro

1992: Terry Scott, T. Central, and Doug Schumpert, Carnegie

1991: Steve Hesser, Bartlesville, and Mark Campbell,Tupelo

1990: Tony Robinson, Norman, and Henry Roland, Beggs

1989: Rick Beene, Bishop McGuinness, and Jerry Belton, Boynton-Moton

1988: Varryl Franklin, Millwood, and Craig Sanders, Fletcher

1987: Nate Harris, Tulsa Washington, and Russell Haddock, Grant

1986: Alan Simpson, Byng, and Paul Meuser

1985: Varryl Franklin, Millwood, and Richard Megli, Hammon

1984: Phil Ingersoll, Douglass, and Tony Potts, Stringtown

1983: Gary Aldridge, Cushing, and Ed Harman, Allen

1982: Don Piccolo, Northwest, and Donald Sloan, Hominy

1981: Gerald Robinson, Southeast, and Ted Younts, Graham

1980: Buddy Armstrong, Del City

1979: Mike de la Garza, Edmond

1978: Charles Davis, John Marshall

1977: Cecil Powell, Lawton Eisenhower

1976: Johnnie Johnson, Star Spencer

1975: Chester Harrington, Altus

1974: Leroy Estes, Yukon

1973: Henry Roland, Sasakwa

1972: Tom Heidebrecht, Fort Towson

1971: Carl Scott, Okmulgee

1970: Max Shuck, Pawhuska

1969: Jim Knapp, New Lima

1968: Truman Dixon, Checotah

1967: Jerry Anderson, Northeast

1966: Bill Allen, Tulsa Webster

1965: Roy Riley, Arcadia

1964: Don Van Pool Sr., Northwest

1963: Red Miller, Rocky

1962: Paul Landrith, Ada

1961: Scott Ousley, Cordell

1960: Bob Griffin, Drumright

1959: Martin Loper, Stillwater

1958: Cletus Green, Bristow

1957: Jim Stroup, Enid

1956: Woody West, Tulsa Rogers

1955: Chet Bryan, Norman

1954: Art Kroeger, Guthrie

1953: Harty Day, Chickasha

Note: From 1981 to 1998, a big school and small school coach of the year and player of the year were named each year. In the listing of winners from those years, those listed first are from big schools and those listed second are from small schools.

by Scott Wright
A lifelong resident of the Oklahoma City metro area, Scott Wright has been on The Oklahoman staff since 2005, covering a little bit of everything on the state's sports scene. He has been a beat writer for football and basketball at Oklahoma and...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Hillary Clinton Really Is Coming For Your Guns
  2. 2
    Where does OU rank among college football's running back units?
  3. 3
    The best jobs for every personality type
  4. 4
    Lankford: Changing Washington 'takes strong families, strong churches and strong communities'
  5. 5
    Trial delayed for former sheriff's deputy charged with sexual battery
+ show more


× Trending high school Article