Share “Oregon St. No. 1 seed for NCAA baseball...”

Oregon St. No. 1 seed for NCAA baseball tournament

Published on NewsOK Modified: May 26, 2014 at 2:29 pm •  Published: May 26, 2014

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) — Oregon State has proved itself as the best in the West. The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee also thinks the Beavers are best in the nation.

The committee on Monday made the Pac-12 champions the top seed for the NCAA tournament over SEC regular-season winner Florida and a Virginia team that's been one of the most consistent in the nation but failed to win an ACC title.

"I thought if you took Florida and Oregon State and Virginia, you could find a reason for any of them to be the (No. 1) seed," Beavers coach Pat Casey said. "When it came down to the fact neither Florida or Virginia were automatic qualifiers, I thought that might swing it our way."

The other five national seeds, in order, are: Indiana, Florida State, Louisiana-Lafayette, TCU and LSU.

Oregon State (42-12) is the No. 1 seed for the first time after being No. 3 a year ago. The Beavers have one of the nation's best starting rotations in Ben Wetzler, Jace Fry and Andrew Moore and one of the top offensive players in the country in left fielder Michael Conforto.

Florida (40-21) won the SEC regular-season title for the third time in five years and reached the conference tournament final. The Gators' schedule ranks as toughest in the country, and they're 16-5 in one-run games.

Virginia (44-13) has the ACC's top pitching staff, headed by sophomore left-hander Nathan Kirby, but the Cavaliers lost four of their last six games.

The tournament opens Friday with 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals. Best-of-three super regionals will be held next week, with those winners moving to the College World Series in Omaha.

National seeds that win their regionals play at home in super regionals.

The Southeastern Conference has 10 teams in the tournament, the most ever by a conference. The Atlantic Coast Conference is represented by seven schools, the Big 12 and Pac-12 by five apiece and the Big West by four.

Kennesaw State of the Atlantic Sun Conference and Sacramento State of the Western Athletic Conference are in the tournament for the first time.

Continue reading this story on the...