Share “OSU, OU players dominate All-Big 12 first...”

OSU, OU players dominate All-Big 12 first team

FROM STAFF REPORTS Modified: November 30, 2010 at 11:48 am •  Published: November 30, 2010

Nine Oklahoma State players and five Oklahoma players were named to the All-Big 12 first team on Monday.

The teams were voted on by the leagues' coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players.

The first teamers from OSU: quarterback Brandon Weeden, running back Kendall Hunter, fullback Bryant Ward, receiver Justin Blackmon, offensive lineman Levy Adcock, kicker Dan Bailey, linebacker Orie Lemon, defensive back Andrew McGee and punter Quinn Sharp.

The first teamers from OU: running back DeMarco Murray, receiver Ryan Broyles, offensive lineman Eric Mensik, defensive lineman Jeremy Beal and defensive back Quinton Carter.

The only unanimous selections to the first-team were Hunter, Broyles and Blackmon.

Oklahoma had two more players on the second team: fullback Trey Millard and linebacker Travis Lewis.

OSU's Ugo Chinasa was named to the second-team defense.

Other news and notes from the All-Big 12 teams:

* Blackmon was the first Oklahoma State player to be named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year. He is the sixth Cowboy athlete to win one of the major individual Big 12 awards.

* Gundy was tabbed as Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. He is the second head coach from OSU (Bob Simmons, 1997) to earn the honor.

* Dan Bailey is the second Oklahoma State player in the last three years (Dez Bryant, 2008) to earn Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year.

* Beal was the first from OU to capture the top defensive lineman award.

* OU has won the most major awards in the 14-year history of the Big 12 with 25. Texas is next with 22 winners, followed by Kansas State (16); Nebraska (14), OSU (10), Colorado (7), Iowa State (7), Texas Tech (7), Kansas (6), Missouri (6), Texas A&M (5) and Baylor (2).

* Entering this year, OSU had six major awards in the history of the league. In 2010, the Cowboys won four honors.


Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State, WR

Defensive Player of the Year: Prince Amukamara, Nebraska, CB

Coach of the Year: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Nate Solder, Colorado, OT

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma, DE

Offensive Freshman of the Year: Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, QB

Co-Defensive Freshman of the Year: Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma, DB

Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State, LB

Special Teams Player of the Year: Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State, P/K

Newcomer of the Year: Lavonte David, Nebraska, LB



QB: Brandon Weeden; Oklahoma State; Jr.; Edmond, Okla./Santa Fe

RB: Kendall Hunter; Oklahoma State; Sr.; Tyler, Texas/John Tyler

RB: DeMarco Murray; Oklahoma; Sr.; Las Vegas, Nev./Bishop Gorman

FB: Bryant Ward; Oklahoma State; Sr.; Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater

WR: Ryan Broyles; Oklahoma; Jr.; Norman, Okla./Norman

WR: Justin Blackmon; Oklahoma State; So.; Ardmore, Okla./Plainview

WR: Jeff Fuller; Texas A&M; Jr.; McKinney, Texas/Boyd

TE: Michael Egnew; Missouri; Jr.; Plainview, Texas/Plainview

OL: Nate Solder; Colorado; Sr.; Buena Vista, Colo./Buena Vista

OL: Tim Barnes; Missouri; Sr.; Longwood, Mo./Pettis County Northwest

OL: Levy Adcock; Oklahoma State; Jr.; Claremore, Okla./NEO A&M JC

OL: Ricky Henry; Nebraska; Sr.; Omaha, Neb./Burke/North Dakota State College of Science

OL: Eric Mensik; Oklahoma; Sr.; Rosenburg, Texas/Terry

PK: Dan Bailey; Oklahoma State; Sr.; Mustang, Okla./Southwest Covenant

KR/PR: William Powell; Kansas State; Sr.; Duncanville, Texas/Navarro College


DL: Jeremy Beal; Oklahoma; Sr.; Carrollton, Texas/Creekview

DL: Sam Acho; Texas; Sr.; Dallas, Texas/St. Mark's

DL: Pierre Allen; Nebraska; Sr.; Denver, Colo./Thomas Jefferson

DL: Aldon Smith; Missouri; So.; Raytown, Mo./Raytown

DL: Jared Crick; Nebraska; Jr.; Cozad, Neb./Cozad

LB: Von Miller; Texas A&M; Sr.; DeSoto, Texas/DeSoto

LB: Lavonte David; Nebraska; Jr.; Miami, Fla./Northwestern/Fort Scott CC

LB: Orie Lemon; Oklahoma State; Sr.; Houston, Texas/Yates

DB: Quinton Carter; Oklahoma; Sr.; Las Vegas, Nev./Cheyenne

DB: Jimmy Smith; Colorado; Sr.; Colton, Calif./Colton

DB: Eric Hagg; ; Nebraska; Sr.; Peoria, Ariz./Ironwood

Continue reading this story on the...


  1. 1
    Hillary Clinton just laid out a sweeping gun-control plan
  2. 2
    When It Comes to Sharing on Social Media, Conversations Differ By Race
  3. 3
    Just in time: Longhorns, Sooners get their own TollTags
  4. 4
    The 10 Richest Pets of All Time
  5. 5
    Should Where You Graduate From Affect What a Recruiter Thinks About You?
+ show more


× Trending ou Article