Share “OSU takes Big 12 wrestling championship”

FROM STAFF REPORTS Published: March 5, 2011

The Oklahoma State wrestling team won its tenth Big 12 team title Saturday night at Hilton Coliseum in Ames, Iowa. The Cowboys racked up 74 team points and were followed by Missouri was second with 60 points and Oklahoma with 59.5 points.

It was the second straight Big 12 title for the Cowboys, who won last year's championship in Norman by a narrow 1.5-pount margin over Iowa State.

OSU wrestlers Jordan Oliver, Jamal Parks, Neil Erisman, Chris Perry and Clayton Foster were all crowned as Big 12 individual champions, bringing the Cowboys' all-time total of conference champions to 234.

“It was good to see us win five championships today, but we were far from perfect in the finals,” OSU coach John Smith said. “What we did today was show that we had a lot in the gas tank when it counted. This is a well-conditioned team.”

Dating back to its days in the Southwest Conference, the Missouri Valley Conference and the Big Eight Conference, OSU has won 44 team conference titles.

Next up for OSU and OU will be the NCAA Championships, which is March 17-19 in Philadelphia.


  1. 1
    Florida woman Periscopes while drunk driving
  2. 2
    Steve Spurrier is retiring immediately as South Carolina’s football coach
  3. 3
    Aunt sues 12-year-old nephew for $127,000
  4. 4
    More Americans Choosing To Renounce Citizenship Rather Than Pay Taxes
  5. 5
    Proposed bill would make college textbooks free
+ show more


× Trending ou Article