Share “OSU's Justin Blackmon, Dan Bailey win...”

OSU's Justin Blackmon, Dan Bailey win national awards

BY BRANDON CHATMON, Staff Writer, Modified: December 9, 2010 at 9:59 pm •  Published: December 9, 2010

Bailey, the most consistent kicker on OSU history, only missed one extra point during his four-year career — Nov. 13 when Texas blocked one an attempt during the Cowboys' 33-16 win. He is 196 of 197 on career extra-point attempts heading into the Alamo Bowl.

Jokingly asked by ESPN's Chris Fowler if he had confronted his teammate who caused the blocked extra point, Bailey took the blame.

“I don't want to be ‘that guy,'” he said. “It's just one of those things. You have to forget about it.”

OSU running back Kendall Hunter joined his OSU teammates in Orlando as a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back. Oregon's LaMichael James, a Heisman finalist, took home the hardware. Hunter led the Big 12 with 1,516 rushing yards as he averaged 126.3 yards per game.

All three were key contributors on an OSU squad that finished 10-2 and earned a share of the Big 12 South title.

OU receiver Ryan Broyles joined the Cowboy trio in Orlando as a finalist for the Biletnikoff after a brilliant season. The junior had 118 receptions for 1,452 yards and 13 touchdowns as he helped the Sooners to an 11-2 record and Big 12 championship.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Alicia Keys welcomes second child
  2. 2
    Chris Rock and wife Malaak Compton-Rock headed for divorce
  3. 3
    Hearse stolen outside church with casket inside
  4. 4
    Ferguson officer placed on unpaid leave after calling Michael Brown memorial 'a pile of trash'
  5. 5
    The Year's 29 Most Spectacular Space Photos
+ show more