Share “OU basketball notebook: Blake Griffin...”

OU basketball notebook: Blake Griffin collects in-house awards, too

Oklahoman Modified: May 4, 2009 at 4:38 am •  Published: May 4, 2009
Oklahoma held its men’s basketball banquet recently, with Blake Griffin — who else? — taking home a team-high four honors.

Griffin, the unanimous National Player of the Year, won the Wayman Tisdale Most Valuable Player Award among his haul. He and seniors Taylor Griffin, Austin Johnson and Omar Leary were all featured in personal video presentations.

"This is a night to celebrate our three seniors,” OU coach Jeff Capel told the crowd, "but we’re also here to pay tribute to a player who had one of the best seasons in the history of college basketball.”

The award winners:

→Brent Price Connection the Community Award: Blake Griffin.

→Roy Marler/Hollis Price Most Inspirational Award: Beau Gerber.

→Eduardo Najera Award for Intensity and Toughness: Tony Crocker.

→Mookie Blaylock Outstanding Defensive Player Award: Taylor Griffin.